Block 229: October 11, 2013

IMG_5066

 

Feeling a bit worn out today.

Date: October 11, 2013

Crane: 229

Days Spent on Project: 236

Location: Apartment, Washington Heights, NYC

Person I would have sent it to: John S.

John and I only overlapped for one year at NHSI- my last summer. He was hired to design and realize the props for half of the 10 shows. I think he was maybe 22 at the time; he either had graduated, or was just about to, from undergrad at DePaul in Chicago.

A lot of my Chicago friends were friends with him already, having the city and the school connection.

He always rode his bike everywhere. Even when the heat of that summer got insanely oppressive.

He also, at the end of the summer, made me a me a mix CD. It’s still a great collection of music. Good times.

Music I listened to while sewing: I’ve got something called “LA Noire” playing on Spotify. It’s a collection of music that’s actually a lot more upbeat and jazzy than I would have thought.

Things you learn.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: Well, after a marathon day of train travel and fittings and one meeting, I’m all about contrasts today. I’m super excited about what the show is evolving into. For all my anxiety that I didn’t have enough clothes or the right clothes or even clothes that would fit, it seems that I’m actually in a good place. I have three characters remaining to really solidify, and I have a clear direction to go with them that won’t be that hard to realize.

So, I’m incredibly pleased with the work. I’m very thankful that Yale helped me out and filled in a lot of the missing pieces that I needed. I’m relieved that things are fitting with minimal alterations.

It felt nice to get home last night, pick up the dog, and have him remind me that he thinks I’m pretty great.

On the other hand, after two days this week of 3-4 hours of sleep, and the remnants of this now Unending Cold (really, how congested can one person BE?!?!), I am beat. I am tired. I’m having a hard time moving today.

The gym will have to wait for a few days. I have one big errand that has to happen today, which will require a fair amount of effort (schlepping about 30 pounds of clothes to Queens… ugh). I’m trying to work up the energy to do that. There’s a list of things I should do after that- just shopping- but I am so exhausted.

Well, it is Friday.

TGIF.

Cheers.

3 thoughts on “Block 229: October 11, 2013

Please leave a reply!

