Block 228: October 10, 2013

IMG_5035

 

Another morning that starts at 4am.

Here we go.

Date: October 10, 2013

Crane: 228

Days Spent on Project: 235

Location: Apartment, Washington Heights, NYC

Person I would have sent it to: Collette P.

Collette was the one female set designer I would work with over the seven summers I spent with the National High School Institute.

She was always incredibly calm. I always got the sense she was highly collaborative, and valued that quality.

One of the most striking set designs I saw at NHSI was designed by her: for a play called “Sense,” adapted from the book “The Man Who Mistook His Wife For A Hat” by Oliver Sacks. The play was a series of monologues and short scenes built around the case histories featured in that book. (Actually, the entire production was quite moving: I still have the playlist of songs that the sound designer gave me at the end of the summer… great ambient music)

Anyway, the set was a single rectangle of linoleum that created the playing space, and as it went upstage, towards infinity, it raked up and lifted to be perpendicular to the floor.  That single white piece of flooring floating in and on a black theater space was direct and incredibly evocative.

I get the sense that Collette was artistic like that. Simple, direct, and theatrical.

Anyway, I always enjoyed having her around and loved working with her.

Music I listened to while sewing: It’s 4am. Spotify suggested I listen to Peaches “Get Me Off” and it’s various remixes.

At 4am, who am I to argue?

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: I didn’t get to bed until 1am, which means I’ve had maybe 3 hours of sleep.

I really need to head out the door now. 7 hours on the train (if it’s on schedule, of course!), with 6 hours of fittings, and 1 hour of meetings today. After I get home, have to pick up the dog.

Coffee will be my friend today! I will make time for that…

Okay, time to get to the subway.

Cheers.

One thought on “Block 228: October 10, 2013

Please leave a reply!

