Block 226: October 8, 2013

IMG_5027

 

Up at 5am again to get myself to New Haven, CT.

Here another day starts.

Date: October 8, 2013

Crane: 226

Days Spent on Project: 233

Location: Apartment, Washington Heights, NYC

Person I would have sent it to: Marcus S.

Marcus was one of the many set designers that I would work with over the seven summers I spent with NHSI. Each summer, two would be hired; they would each design 5 shows simultaneously, which would get built simultaneously, and then performed in rep over the course of one week.

It’s a crazy amount of work. Over the years, I would eventually graduate to designing costumes for four of the ten shows each summer. That amount of work was intense; I have no idea how doing a fifth would have been possible. Marcus, to his credit, was always professional and ready to tackle the productions, making them as unique as they could be. He was always pleasant to be around.

Working with him was always fun.

Music I listened to while sewing: I’ve got the Sleep No More playlist going this morning. It’s too early for pop or dance music.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: Well, I’m almost 100% recovered from whatever crud I was sick with over the weekend. I’ve just got the remains of some congestion, which I’m trying as hard as possible to get out of my body. Thankfully that’s over; with today’s super early trip to New Haven, another full week begins.

Yesterday, I tried to balance a bit of relaxation with the work I needed to do. It was gray and rainy for most of the day; other than running a fair amount of errands in the early afternoon, I worked from home. I feel (somewhat) caught up.

I did, in addition to the laundry, the grocery-shopping, the cleaning, the sewing, the Breaking Bad watching, and the dog-walking, get the opportunity to work on a writing project that I haven’t had time to touch in almost four weeks. I have no idea how writers do it; if you have to balance another job or work, I’m finding it hard to carve out some time to sit down and chip away at what I’m trying to do… (How many side projects do I need exactly?) The time away was both good and bad; I found I needed to skim most of the work again to get a sense of where I was at before (bad… time was precious), but I also realized I had veered off in a direction that I wasn’t sure I originally had wanted to go in stylistically.

Maybe that’s good. Maybe that’s bad. I’m not quite sure if the piece is evolving naturally into the work it wants to be, that I didn’t originally foresee… or if I’m just getting bogged down in details and minutiae, and slowly letting the air out of the original world that I wanted to put down on paper. We’ll see. I’m not sure I have a specific deadline for the draft. I just know I have to present something by April at the very latest for the first round of feedback.

So much work to do. And it’s actually fun. I wish I had the liberty to focus on that for a spell. Well, after Halloween, things might be slower (again, good and bad), so I just have to be patient.

I need more work, however.

Okay, off to get myself to Grand Central. The day needs to start.

Cheers.

One thought on “Block 226: October 8, 2013

Please leave a reply!

