Block 225: October 7, 2013

IMG_5023

Date: October 7, 2013

Crane: 225

Days Spent on Project: 232

Location: Apartment, Washington Heights, NYC

Person I would have sent it to: Matt D.

Eventually, Andrew W. would make the transition to design and teach at NHSI, and he gave the production managing duties over to Matt. He took over the arduous task of corralling and overseeing and managing all ten productions over the summer at NHSI. He was really good at his job, all aspects of it, including the most intimidating part: being a deejay to three dance parties thrown for the students throughout the summer. He would have to stay in a large room, playing the summer’s greatest hits (and then some) to keep the kids (and the chaperones- us) entertained. The dances were always a little bit over the top (I mean, 160 17 year-old in one room, “dancing” like the kids do these days, for 2-3 hours? I would not be lying if we left that room smelling more than a bit ripe…

Anyway, Matt was a trooper. He was always in charge, and managed to steer us on the production end of the program, through many rough waters.

Music I listened to while sewing: I feel like I had Fleetwood Mac going through my head this morning when I woke up. I’m listening to the “Deluxe” edition of Rumours… So far, I haven’t heard the song I wanted.

Maybe it wasn’t Fleetwood that I was craving this morning?

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: You know, in a way, spending the entire weekend at home was a blessing. I caught up on a lot of sleep. I feel somewhat better, at this point; I’m still somewhat under the weather, but I feel I can manage to head out of the apartment.

Last night, I felt really incredibly down however. Theres’ the obvious: I felt like I wasted an entire weekend. I felt like a shut-in. I didn’t hear anything from anyone all weekend. By the end of the weekend, last night as midnight approached, I started to wonder if anyone really cared.

Wrong thing to think as you’re lying in bed, waiting to fall asleep.

I had friends once. Once upon a time, it was easy for me to make friends and make plans and be a part of a group. And now, or at least at midnight last night, I felt otherwise.

Ugh. So, while the time in the apartment was great, while the opportunity to nap all weekend was obviously needed, while my body was trying to tell me to take a break, I have to get out of my apartment and my neighborhood today. I feel like I have a bunch of stuff to do… but what?

I need a to-do list today to get back on track.

Okay, off to make some magic… (and blow my nose).

Cheers.

Please leave a reply!

