Block 221: October 3, 2013

IMG_4994

 

My beloved iron kicked the bucket while sewing this Crane. I was only able to finish my pressing all my seams with the residual heat as it cooled down. Today, I will have to buy a new iron.

Why does it feel like everything I own is falling apart or breaking right now?

Crane: 221

Days Spent on Project: 228

Location: Apartment, Washington Heights, NYC

Person I would have sent it to: Sylvia F.

How could I forget Sylvia!? I couldn’t!

Sylvia came on board the NHSI family as a Production Associate, to help coordinate all the production demands, the meetings, the needs of all the different departments that were trying to crank out 10 different shows at the same time. When she started, she was an undergrad student at Carnegie Mellon.

She stayed with the program for a few years. Eventually, she would go to grad school in London, if I remember correctly, and come back to live in Chicago as a production manager… but not in theater. I feel like she does big, corporate events now. It’s impressive what she does.

Of the friends I made in Chicago, Sylvia is probably the one that I’ve seen most often in the city. While it’s been a few years now (she left the country for grad school for a spell), it seemed like every year I would get an email from her about an upcoming visit.

She’s another one of those infectious, lovely personalities that just makes you feel appreciated. Incredibly organized and focused, she gets things done… and manages to make it look easy and like it was a party while you were doing it.

Music I listened to while sewing: I’m listening to the new (is it new or am I just discovering them?) album by Icona Pop. I don’t think it’ll break any boundaries or redefine pop music, but it’s fun.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: Tomorrow I head to Providence for a marathon day of fittings, meetings, and checking in with a small costume shop. I’m a little behind on this show… not for lack of trying… but I’ve been trying to find costumes I can rent that will be the right period and fit. It’s been a struggle, as every company seems to be doing a Chekhov or Ibsen or Shakespeare set in the Turn of the Century. I’ve got an appointment to pull costumes next week in Connecticut; here’s hoping the rest of the show is there! If not, all the wigs, corsets, boots, and petticoats on the ladies are gonna look great. Who knows what else they’re wearing… and don’t even get me started on the men!

Anyway, today the goal is to buy some fabric and ship it off, get a new iron, do three *quick* sketches, and hopefully get to the gym. I have to drop the dog off with a sitter tonight, since I’ll be gone from 5am until 9pm tomorrow. I also need to remember to buy him more dog food.

Okay, it’s kind of a full day. I should get started.

On a side note: I don’t think there’s ANYTHING on my docket for the weekend… which means I can work on the LA project that I haven’t touched in 3 weeks. Yikes.

Off to make magic happen.

Cheers.

Please leave a reply!

