Block 219: October 1, 2013

IMG_4985

 

Happy October, everyone.

On a side note, the American government is all kinds of messed up.

Crane: 219

Days Spent on Project: 226

Location: Apartment, Washington Heights, NYC

Person I would have sent it to: Kate M.

Kate was brought to the National High School Institute a year or two after my year. Not that I had been a part of that family for very long, but I’m fairly certain that the dynamic of the program changed once she came along.

She changed it for the better.

Not that it was broken, or a horrible place to work; so many people considered it a home but, after she started working there, I think she added a helluva lot more heart to the experience.

Kate was everyone’s cheerleader. I can’t emphasize enough how she was there for all the people involved with the program, how she went out of her way to be a presence, how she brought life to every room she was in. She’s a great person.

Music I listened to while sewing: I’m back listening to “Eshu,” that runway collection by Alexander McQueen from 13 or so years ago.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: Putting my day on hold so I could get to the gym for so much needed cardio was the right thing to do.

I’m heading out again to do just that. If lugging an extra bag full of workout clothes is the price I have to pay for being just a little more energetic, a little more focused, and a little less down… well, then, that’s something I’ll have to deal with.

Okay, off we go!

Cheers.

Please leave a reply!

