Block 215: September 27, 2013

IMG_4958

 

Date: September 27, 2013

Crane: 215

Days Spent on Project: 222

Location: Apartment, Washington Heights, NYC

Person I would have sent it to: Lindsay J.

Lindsay is a sound designer, an almost super-humanly busy sound designer; it always appears from the outside that he’s got multiple shows in tech concurrently but in different parts of the country. This Fall, he’s actually doing his first Broadway show. I think they’re in tech rehearsals right now.

Back in my second year at NHSI, which was my first summer to design costumes, I was asked to design the clothes for his production of The Laramie Project. (The Laramie Project? With high schoolers? See, NHSI never really backed down from challenging work…)

Anyway, design-wise, it’s a huge show. There’s a cast of what seems like endless characters, and we performed the show with 15 actors. It was all about quick-changing from one character to the next, rigging clothes to be torn off and replaced quickly. And, to make it all better (or harder, in ways), these characters are all real people who were interviewed (or did the interviewing) about the Matthew Shepard murder in 1998. (Again, intense show!) So, the visual research is quite specific and is out there and can be found… But, this was 2001, and Google Image search was not yet an option, and the Internet access at the program then was spotty.

I learned a lot with that show. The necessity of research. The respect for characters and their authenticity. The need to show a director everything and communicate your plans. The value of thrift stores. The sartorial nature of New Yorkers versus people in rural environments. That black shoes don’t go with everything. That there is no such thing as a “Universal Shoe” that will go with every outfit and every character.

I’m still asked to find “Universal Shoes” for large productions in New York. Any way to cut some cost right? (More shoes are inevitably added when people have the realization themselves)

I can’t believe Lindsay agreed to have a 22 year old designer do that show with him. I’m grateful for the experience.

Music I listened to while sewing: I’m back with my Sleep No More playlist. Something comfortable to get the day started.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: I’m trying to treat myself well this week.

I’m trying to remain positive and focus on the goal.

I’m trying to keep working on the projects that aren’t immediately in front of me.

I’m trying to stay ahead.

I’m trying to get myself out there. To be seen. To be present. To be a presence.

But it’s hard sometimes. Sometimes life just seems so… Well, there is a “day-in, day-out” quality to it all at the moment.

I’m trying to accept that. I’m trying to understand that the day-in’s and the day-out’s add up to life and make us who we are. They’re a given.

I’m trying to remind myself they aren’t to be taken for granted. I’m trying to wrap my head around that and figure out how to make them count and how to be proud of the time I fill.

It’s a process.

TGIF.

Cheers.

One thought on “Block 215: September 27, 2013

Please leave a reply!

