Block 211: September 23, 2013

IMG_4903

 

Happy Monday, right?

Incredibly excited over here; I think I’ll be done (like, for real, done) with Hamlet tomorrow. Only two things (or three or four, depending on how we define ‘work’) going on for the next three weeks.

Still need to find work. Something that actually pays would be good.

Date: September 23, 2013

Crane: 211

Days Spent on Project: 218

Location: Apartment, Washington Heights, NYC

Person I would have sent it to: Michael F.

Michael was yet another person that I met through NHSI, but towards the last of my seven summers with the program. He was an actor and director in Chicago, who was creating a name for himself with his production of a one-man show (based on his own life) called “Incognito.” During the summer, we took the students to watch a performance. For many of them, I kinda think their minds were blown apart by some of it.

He continues to perform it around the country, at school, colleges and universities (I was guest teaching at a university last year, and they had JUST brought him in!), and also tours it to other locations. I won’t say what it’s about, but it is thought-provoking and revelatory on some subjects.

While he worked for NHSI, I designed two of his shows: Balm in Gilead (which I ended up enjoying immensely as a production; I still think that play’s ending is quite terrifying oddly) and then Thieve’s Carnival (which I will admittedly say that I did not do so well as a designer with; it was completely my fault on that one).

I still feel somewhat bad about that; he is a great guy and theater artist. The work he’s created “Incognito,” I think does bring about some good conversation on delicate subjects. I think he gets what theater can do.

Music I listened to while sewing: I’ve listening/watching the YouTube video for “La Dame Bleue,” Alexander McQeen’s runway show for Spring/Summer 2008. It was dedicated to his long-time friend Isabella Blow.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: I slept through my alarm. I’m running a half hour behind schedule, and I’m just barely managing to squeak this writing in this morning before I have to run to a fitting downtown!

Weird dreams last night… One was a vivid discussion group, talking about a play I had written (?). One person was critical that I didn’t write it as they would. Another person, very obviously the actress who plays Bald Witch in Sleep No More, came up to me silently and gave my large cue cards that discussed someone named Amanda. I remember replying that I’d have to talk about “that” in private. Again, very vivid and somewhat random, but not completely.

Yesterday was full of events. I think I got a few things worked out personally. I’m hoping I laid the groundwork for something new. Probably not, but we’ll see.

Gotta run!

Please leave a reply!

