Block 206: September 18, 2013

IMG_4802

 

Wednesday! Half-way through the week!

Sometimes I feel like I’m just wishing the days away here, like I have something better coming up in the unknown future.

I think I’m just a little bored by it all right now.

Date: September 18, 2013

Crane: 206

Days Spent on Project: 213

Location: Apartment, Washington Heights, NYC

Person I would have sent it to: How many summers did I work for NHSI? Seven, right?

If, on average, I worked with about 40 theater artists every summer, that’s about 280 opportunities to meet and be inspired by other people who were driven by their passion for theater. Granted, there was a core of people who returned every year who believed and loved and enjoyed the program, for a variety of reasons: it was a good job to have in Chicago for a summer, the people you were working with were active theater people from around the country, the students we taught were bright and energetic and fun, the work was intense but somehow always got done and was done well. These people became a kind of family. Over seven summers, there were a support network for me. I have a lot of them to thank. I’ve started to work my way through them. There may be a lot. I hope I remember all of them, in addition to the ones I’ve already started to thank.

Today is Diana B.

Diana’s first summer with the program was also in 2000; while I was hired as a Faculty Associate, she was hired to teach afternoon electives for the program. She would return the next year, and for many years later, as one of the Acting teachers and also as a director for some of the final productions.

She was also good friends with Scott F. They were both involved in the original productions of Schoolhouse Rock Live. In that way, I believed they were famous because of that.

I never got the chance to design one of her shows for the program, which I consider a shame; she always chose challenging shows and she had a great energy around her. The students certainly loved her.

Music I listened to while sewing: So, this dance remix of “Summertime Sadness” by Lana del Rey is kind of awesome. I’ve just got it on repeat this morning. Again.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: I need more time. Or maybe I don’t.

There’s a part of me that feels a little overwhelmed by having too much on my plate, of feeling like I’m not getting things done like I need to and when I need to, like I need to really focus harder and give more of myself to the work I’m doing.

But then, last night, I was up until 2am again, wallowing in the realization that I was actually quite bored.

Without trying to be specific, I feel like the production I’m assisting on is eating up most of my attention without asking for me to do much of anything. The other three productions I feel more invested in have taken a backseat to it, and I’m frustrated by that.

Cannot wait to figure out a way to squeak in some gym-time or some friend-time in my life again. Something to break all of this up.

Okay, the front-end of my day is super-overloaded. The back-end of my day isn’t. Time to get myself downtown… and it’s only 8am.

Here’s to having an adventure sometime soon. Hopefully.

Cheers.

Please leave a reply!

