Block 188: August 31, 2013

IMG_4687

 

Last day of August, everyone. September is just around the corner.

Goodbye, Summer.

Date: August 31, 2013

Crane: 188

Days Spent on Project: 195

Location: Apartment, Washington Heights, NYC

Person I would have sent it to: Well, let’s see… how personal can I get here?

My friends in London seemed to think I had missed out on a few experiences in life. I was 20 years old, an American living in London, and a student in love with The Theater!. At that time in my life, with the exception of 2 blind or almost-blind dates in the past, I had not had a boyfriend. I had not had a series of dates. I had not had the chance to flirt with anyone publicly. I had, therefore, also remained a virgin.

My friends in London wanted to fix this.

And so it was, on some Saturday evening, my friends took me to a club with the expressed purpose of losing me there and leaving me there and me having to find someone to go home with.

To this day, I’m amazed that I still hope that romance exists.

It didn’t take long. Like I said, I was young. Obviously American with my accent. It was only a matter of time, some dance music, and a few Vodka-Red-Bulls (which was the new drink on the scene at the time, back then).

I don’t even remember his name. Yikes.

It wasn’t anything to write home about. What was more memorable was the sudden realization at 3 or 4 in the morning that I had no idea where I was in London, I didn’t even know if I was still in London proper, the Tube was closed for the night, I couldn’t find a bus stop, and this was before cell phones or smart phones or GPS. Ooops.

I walked for about 2-3 hours until I found my way home. (Talk about a walk of shame!) I managed to find one closed Tube station; from that I pointed myself towards the area of London I lived. I eventually found Edgeware Road and followed it back.

I did find an empty pint glass on the side of the road that I followed back to London. Something about it seemed great, so I picked it up. I still have it, these 14 years and several apartments later.

So, Pint Glass Man, for being the first proverbial notch, this Crane’s for you.

Music I listened to while sewing: I had my Chill Out Playlist on while sewing. I’m now just letting Spotify shuffle through all my favorites. Right now, that’s a band called Duck Sauce.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: I spend a lot of time thinking about how necessary it is to really try and include other people in my life.

It pains me to say it, but I need closer (physically, emotionally, mentally) and (dare I say it) better friends.

How does one look for more friends?

Please leave a reply!

