Block 184: August 27, 2013

IMG_4652

 

Tuesday! I woke up thinking it was Friday!

Disappointment.

Date: August 27, 2013

Crane: 184

Days Spent on Project 191

Location: Apartment, Washington Heights, NYC

Person I would have sent it to: Natalie J.

Natalie was flatmate #3 in Kate’s apartment. If I remember, she was from Tennessee? I remember her accent clearly. It was interesting to hear it amongst London.

Again, the three preceding ladies I’ve dedicated Cranes to were the sisters/friends that gave me a group to belong to while I studied in London; I’m incredibly thankful for that. As you all probably can deduce from the Cranes I’ve done and dedicated, I make friends more easily with strong, confident women. I don’t have a specific reason for doing so, but I would hypothesize that it could be because I grew up with two older sisters (and one younger brother who kept to his own interests). My father was busy at work most always, so my mother was the more present figure growing up. So, I just feel more comfortable, I find it easier to make friends with women.

I think this may explain my terrible track record with dating.

To a degree, the three ladies (women now, 2 of them are even mothers themselves) that were friends with me in London grounded me. They gave me an apartment to go to after school (surprise, I didn’t quite get along with the three guys I lived with…). They gave me a group to drink with. They gave me a ready group of people who also wanted to see as much theater as possible. They gave me a place to listen to the musical Rent. They introduced Ani Difranco to me. We could hang out and be friends. And I needed that over there… because I was a little uncomfortable (I’d never taken REAL acting classes before), a little shy, a little broke, and feeling a little out of my league.

So, I really have to thank them, you know?

Music I listened to while sewing: I’ve got my comfort music (the Sleep No More playlist) on again. I needed it, especially that Peggy Lee song.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: I worry that I’m developing Insomnia.

It’s the first day of rehearsal for a show I’m assisting a designer on… I think it’s going well; we seem to have made a good start. But, I think it’s going to be a lot of work, a lot of work that isn’t being addressed yet. I don’t know why it’s keeping me up at night, or making me hesitate when I get ready in the morning, but it is.

Maybe it’ll get better when the ball gets rolling a bit on this.

Anyway, it’s an early start this morning. Definitely a large coffee a few times kind of day.

Maybe that’s the problem?

Please leave a reply!

