Block 181: August 24, 2013

IMG_4640

 

Saturday, everyone! Yay!

Date: August 24, 2013

Crane: 181

Days Spent on Project: 188

Location: Apartment, Washington Heights, NYC

Person I would have sent it to: Andrew L.

Another one of the core group of friends in London, he was one of the three other people that I would spend much of my time with. I can’t remember exactly where he was from in the States… did he come to London from Boston College?

Among the 50 or so students there, we were divided into four different groups. We all had the same classes, but taught by different teachers. Jarret B. (yesterday’s Crane) was with me in my regular classes that last two months. Andrew was cast with me in the school’s production of Hamlet. We got to act together. That was fun. We even got some scenes together in that final production.

I don’t remember anything super-specific about our friendship, except he was one of the close friends that I just counted on being there and doing things with. He was one of the team, you know?

Music I listened to while sewing: I’ve turned into a Ken Burns documentary-addict this week. I’ve already gone through The Prohibition and The Dust Bowl this week; last night, I started Jazz. I only made it through one episode before needing to head to bed, but I found a playlist of music featured in that series on Spotify.

Score!

How have I not appreciated Jazz before this? Musically, for one thing, but the history and development of it all… it’s really fascinating stuff to learn about.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: Okay, this is going to sound a little bit ridiculous, but… um… have you heard of the Unicorn Name Generator?

Well, if you haven’t, here’s a link to it.

I can’t remember who specifically told me about it, but I entered my name and then I told another person about it and they did it and they told another person about it… And so on and so on.

I haven’t laughed that hard in an incredibly long time. And, yes, it IS absurd that a bunch of randomly assigned adjectives could make me laugh so hard. But it did. I think I laughed for a few hours non-stop, thinking about it.

And you know what? I woke up this morning with a smile on my face. I’m still smiling. It’s silly and weird, but I’m in an incredibly good mood and I’m not antsy or worried or bored right now: I’m actually 100% happy. And because I’m so happy, I can’t wait to get the day started. I can’t wait to go to the gym and run errands and get to the dog run and do some work.

So, let this be a lesson to us all! Sometimes it’s okay to wallow in some shenanigans and just enjoy random silliness for what it is. We all need to laugh at things and ourselves. Don’t take it all so seriously.

But only sometimes.

Hope you get the chance to laugh today!

Cheers; I’m off to take on the world.

-Signed, Apple Dapple Mane (Weird, right?)

Please leave a reply!

