Block 180: August 23, 2013

IMG_4629

 

TGIF.

Thank heavens, it’s Friday.

Date: August 23, 2013

Crane: 180

Days Spent on Project: 187

Location: Apartment, Washington Heights, NYC

Person I would have sent it to: Jarret B.

When I spent that semester abroad in London, I thought I would be the only person from Kenyon at the program I chose. I mean, in a conservatory that chose 50 people per year, what are the chances that multiple people from the same US school would be chosen?

Well, there was one other Kenyonite there in London with me that semester.

And, that was actually good.

I think he and I both decided to spend time away from Kenyon for the same reasons: needing a change of scenery and being curious to see what a more actor-focused training would be like.

While Jarret and I weren’t close friends at Kenyon- although we were friendly and had been in classes and plays together- we did get the chance to spend a fair amount of time together in London. Within the small group of people i gravitated towards, and spent most of my time with, he was a fixture as well.

I’m not sure what he felt or thought about the time in London. I enjoyed it. I assume he did.

I remember he was frequently with a camera, and wanted to document the things around him that he found artistic. He also wore the same wool, slightly oversized overcoat all the time.

He now lives in New York, and is working as a comedian around town. In my last apartment, on the Upper East Side, I walked my dog right past him once. I was too surprised to see him to say anything, and my dog was on a mission as he always is. From his posts on Facebook and Twitter, it seems that he’s always busy… and always cracking a joke.

Music I listened to while sewing: Today, I’m listening to Helen Forrest! Something new!

I worry that Spotify thinks I’m much older than I actually am.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: Like I said before, TGIF. Just one more day until the weekend!

Okay, I’m off for a costume fitting. Sorry for the super-short entry!

Please leave a reply!

