Block 159: August 2, 2013

IMG_4525

 

Ladies and Gentlemen: And we’re back!

My new sewing machine arrived last night; I unpacked it this morning, set it up, and it seems I’m back in business.

I realized, on this week “vacation” from the project, that I missed this process; I felt upset to set it aside. But, I had a valid reason (no sewing machine) for the respite. If anything, when I have to leave town in the fall for a some projects, I’ll have gotten used to the idea of taking a break.

But, anyway, here I am. I missed this and you all!

Date: August 2, 2013

Crane: 159

Days Spent on Project: Ugh… there was a week break in there, so it’s now been 166 days since I started The A Thousand Quilted Cranes Project.

I’ll get over that sense of abandonment soon.

Location: Apartment, Washington Heights, NYC

Person I would have sent it to: I left off in the midst of my college friends, so I’ll head back there.

Today’s Crane is for Wendy L.

After my first year, Wendy was always a presence in my experience at Kenyon. We took dance classes together. We shared common friends. I would spend time at the apartment she shared with people our senior year; she introduced me to the movie Tank Girl…

We drank rum and cokes while watching it. Even with the drinks, or because of them, I didn’t “get” the movie.

Fast forward several years, and we find and friend each other on Facebook. Later on, we follow each other on Instagram.

She now lives in Colorado; I’m not quite sure what she occupies herself with out there. Last I knew, she worked for a museum. She’s somehow involved in the arts.

Wendy, despite the years and miles apart, has been incredibly supportive of this project. She has told me she’s shown some of the blocks to friends and colleagues, who have encouraged me through her to keep going. And that’s just awesome.

We all need encouragement in our lives. I’m sure all of us don’t get enough of it to be the people we want and need to be.

You never really know who from your past is going to come back, even peripherally, and positively affect your life.

Music I listened to while sewing: I’m listening to a playlist that a Sound Designer friend in LA has made for me. He and I are working on a piece- a play? a dance? an experience?- that we’re just starting to shape. It could be epic. It could be cool. If anything, it’s got the juices flowing again, which has been incredibly helpful.

His playlist has a bunch of Bessie Jones, Rebirth Brass Band. Very different than the stuff I’ve listened to of late. It’s really exciting.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: Spent the day with a friend, who was visiting from Michigan. I haven’t seen her in perhaps SEVEN years, so the hours we spent together were very good. We ate brunch, went shopping, stopped by the Metropolitan Museum of Art, and then walked through Central Park.

Taking the subway home afterwards, I was struck by how good I felt.

It really gave me pause.

So, despite what it may seem like on this blog, I do have friends and I am a social person. For the most part, people like me. However, with this old friend, I noticed there wasn’t an undercurrent of instability or tension between the two of us.

Yes, we spent most of the day talking about theater and work and life and money and design and clothes and boys and dating and friends. But there was a freedom between the two of us to be honest about those topics: this frustrates me, this is good, I dislike this, I wish for this, I want this, I’m nervous about that, when are we adults for real, etc.

It made me realize that I do want- and I do NEED- people like that here, in my everyday life, who can converse honestly about what’s going on in our lives. I enjoy the people I have here. I do.

But it’s frustrating at times to have the “I’m so busy” or “I’m so broke” or “I’m in Brooklyn and you’re in Manhattan” or “I’m in tech” excuses trotted out.

Food for thought.

I miss my old friends in Chicago. I do.

Anyway, make friends today, friends. Glad to be back. Enjoy Friday. I’m sure you deserved it.

2 thoughts on “Block 159: August 2, 2013

  1. How encouraging. It’s always so wonderful to spend quality time with friends who really know us and make us feel cherished. I like your description that there wasn’t ‘an undercurrent of instability or tension’ between you two. True friends make us feel comfortable. Competition among friends can be so damaging. I have an old friend from Japan whom we met in London as students more than 10 years ago. She would fly to see me once in a while and we would spend a day catching up in London. It feels wonderful and special. True friendship feels like breeze on a lovely summer day.

    • True friendship is so powerful! I love the friends I have here, but it is difficult (I’m learning) for me to develop true friends with people who also work directly in my field… and therefore are potential competition. It’s sad, I know, and it makes me sound like an untrusting fool.

      I don’t know what the answer is to that. I should be happy for all the people in my life, but it’s hard (so very hard) NOT to have a sense of jealousy or instability creep up we all talk about our accomplishments or dreams. Life isn’t perfect…

Please leave a reply!

