Block 155: July 22, 2013

IMG_4506

 

Happy Monday, everyone. Yet another week begins!

Date: July 22, 2013

Crane: 155

Days Spent on Project: 155

Location: Apartment, Washington Heights, NYC

Person I would have sent it to: Ilona W.

I technically met Ilona at the very end of my first year at Kenyon, when she walked up to me and said she was excited that we were both going to be RA’s together. It was the first time I had talked to her. It was kind of surprising and amazing simultaneously.

From then on, Ilona was a part of the group of people I would hang out with.

She was good friends with Katie A. (yesterday’s Crane). She was one of the four roommates in that apartment that I spent most of my time in.

She lives in Brooklyn, and is probably the closest friend from Kenyon in my life… speaking of location specifically. We don’t run into each other that often, which is 100% my fault.

I do know she just got engaged this summer to her long-term boyfriend… I was happy to hear about that.

Music I listened to while sewing: Have you heard of someone called Mekon? I just started listening to his (their?) album Something Came Up from 2006.

I don’t know how to describe it. Other than fun.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: The day off was good yesterday, but it made me realize how physically tired I actually am. I was ready to get in bed at 6pm.

I dreamt last night that I was auditioning for one of the lead roles in a Broadway show I associate designed last year. All the cast member were there, and wanted me to have the lead, even though I can’t sing that well and my dancing skills aren’t quite “Broadway” level. My singing and acting audition went well, but when I went to lace up my custom made (for an audition!?) dance shoes, I realized I had no idea which room the dance auditions were in.

Cue the frantic running around a large building, filled with empty rehearsal rooms… followed by waking up at 5:50am (on the dot!), feeling confused and very disappointed and angry that I had blown my chance in my dream.

So it seems I’m back to my old anxiety dreams again.

Today I need to head out for another 12 hour day in the theater. I’m not looking forward to that… I need to get a very large coffee from Starbucks. Maybe a second.

Okay, friends, time for me to shuffle out the door. Caffeine and work calls.

 

 

Please leave a reply!

