Block 153: July 20, 2013

IMG_4500

 

Hope you’re all staying cool these days. I really want access to a pool.

Date: July 20, 2013

Crane: 153

Days Spent on Project: 153

Location: Apartment, Washington Heights, NYC

Person I would have sent it to: Emily A.

When Annika P. brought me into her circle of friends my junior year at Kenyon, Emily was one of her apartment/suite mates. Emily wasn’t a drama major- was she majoring in political science?- but she had helped out on a few projects in the department during my first year, so I knew her. I just wasn’t friends with her yet.

And of the four ladies in that suite or apartment or whatever it’s appropriately called, Annika and Emily were the ones I went to when I wanted to hang out there- which was almost daily. No, it was practically daily.

They were in their last semester of their final year, and they let a third year student, newly returned from a semester in London and caught adrift with the realization that most all his friends were abroad still, join their ranks. I’m incredibly thankful for that.

Music I listened to while sewing: Sunday in the Park with George. I realized I haven’t listened to it in what seems like months. And it was time to fix that.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: I’ve been thinking about the scope of this project a bit these days… trying to figure out the important aspects of it.

It’s obvious that the dedication of the Crane is important; the people from my past are integral to the project’s purpose.

I think time is also a key component; the daily ritual of tracing out the pieces, cutting them out, piecing it together, pressing it, documenting it, and numbering it is now a part of my morning. When I wake up, and after walking and feeding the dog, I sit down to put the day’s Crane together. It takes about an hour to do that. Writing can take anywhere from 15 minutes to a half hour.

But it isn’t just the time daily. The duration of time is also important. I am not so bold as to state that over it’s lifetime, I will be able to do a Crane daily. There will be some periods where I can’t sew a crane, for whatever reasons. So, for the first half of the project (piecing the Cranes), I will have spent a minimum of 1000 days doing this. QUILTING the piece together will take a while, don’t you think?

And finally, the process of meditating and writing about the Crane, the day, the music, and so on… that’s the third key part of this project. When I’m done, who knows how much I will have written or how my thoughts will develop or what the writing will turn into.

So, the project is made of The People, The Time, and The Writing.

I’m now trying to figure out a way to incorporate those ideas and a few more that I’m coming to grips with into the final piece .

Much to think about, right? But I think I’ve got the time…

Stay cool today, folks.

Please leave a reply!

