Block 151: July 18, 2013

IMG_4494

 

Date: July 18, 2013

Crane: 151

Days Spent on Project: 151

Location: Apartment, Washington Heights, NYC

Person I would have sent it to: Annika P.

I first met Annika at the end of my first year at Kenyon; I had signed up to be an Assistant Stage Manager for the spring production of The Caucasian Chalk Circle, and she was going to design the puppets and masks. That, we, Kenyon College, were going to do a play by Brecht that involved mask-work and puppetry blew my mind. If I couldn’t get in the show, I wanted to be involved in whatever way I could.

So, Annika and I got to vaguely know each other over those weeks, as I tried to help her create her designs and ideas for the show.

My second year, Annika went to study abroad, in England, so I didn’t see her for an entire year.

At the start of my third year, I had chosen to also study in London for a semester and enroll in a miniature acting conservatory program. It was a great and perfect experience for me. I wish I had had the ability and gumption to stay for the year, in hindsight.

When I came back, and most of my fellow third-year friends were still abroad, I gravitated towards Annika… for the shared London connection, for the interest in theater. And also, she was just a lot of fun.

That semester, with most of my friends spread all over the world, I spent most of my time hanging out with students a year ahead of me. Annika was the person who brought me into that group, included, and welcomed me. I spent so many days over in the “apartment” suite she shared with people who would also become friends. I discovered West Wing with them. I watched grainy videos of the Tonys with them on VHS tapes. I celebrated my 21st birthday with them. I was introduced to jello shots with them.

So, thank you, Annika, for helping to welcome me back to Kenyon.

Music I listened to while sewing: Today, I was back to the Top 100 Hits of Spotify Playlist… I’m realizing several songs are repeated. How is that possible? Are people only listening to 84 songs, and Spotify needed to make up the difference?

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: A few days ago, while I was researching images for a theoretical set design I’m working on, I discovered the artist Ann Hamilton, more specifically her work The Event of a Thread.

As I tried to learn more about her, I discovered a short video on YouTube, in which she discusses “Creativity.”

They were words I needed to hear.

Since I don’t really have the time to transcribe the video, just click here to watch it. It’s only 2 minutes long, so really quick, but really insightful!

One thought on “Block 151: July 18, 2013

  1. Thank you for this beauty, Mike! SO MANY of my most favorite memories of senior year involve you…seasonally costuming Barbara the mannequin, taking back-to-back design classes with Andrew, struggling to draw feet on renderings (me struggling more than you!), eating dinner in Pierce at like 4:30 because we had so much other shit to get done, endless hours in the costume shop with Mom-away-from-Mom Debe. We’ve both grown and changed so much since the Kenyon days, but I still think of them so fondly and you’re a big part of that.

    I think it’s amazing that you undertook this project and saw it through to the final, astonishing piece.

Please leave a reply!

