Block 148: July 15, 2013

IMG_4488

 

I worry I may have to take a break from Crane-sewing soon. My sewing machine is acting a bit confused lately… my bobbin keeps unthreading/unwinding itself, the tension is more than a little off, and the motor has slowed down to a snail’s pace.

Instead of buying something new on Amazon, I feel I should try to get my machine cleaned and serviced, right? It’s only 7 years old and, while it has sewn some really interesting materials and projects over the years, I feel it should have more life to give!

So, if there’s an absence of entries in the near future, that’s my explanation and excuse.

Date: July 15, 2013

Crane: 148

Days Spent on Project: 148

Location: Apartment, Washington Heights, NYC

Person I would have sent it to: Trevor B.

David was a year ahead of me at Kenyon, and another Drama major in the department. Over the three years we shared at Kenyon, I feel like we were only in one show together… Volpone, which was my second year. But we shared the same friends: Gil, Sarah, Brigid, and so on and so forth.

He was also majoring in English, like many of the Drama majors did. (I’m not sure the second major was to complement their studies or skill sets, or if it was to calm parental fears of children focusing something so “non-practical.”) Anyway, he was wicked smart, could understand and direct a play intelligently, and communicate.

He was also incredibly funny: I remember his amusement at having to wear a fat suit for his role in Volpone, which he wore underneath a purple corduroy judge’s robe.

Costume Lesson of the day: corduroy does not make a suitable stand-in for velvet.

Music I listened to while sewing: some Motown.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: So, while today is not a day off (I have one meeting with a director, and have to prepare for three design presentations tomorrow), it does seem like I might have some time to get some errands done.

I need to get to the Post Office and pick up a package that’s been there for almost a week. I need to shop for groceries. I need to do laundry. It’s amazing that, at 34, getting myself to a laundromat and washing my clothes feels like such a Herculean task. Still. Shouldn’t I be used to doing this by now?

I could get myself to the Strand Bookstore to look for research.

I may even have time for the GYM! It’s been at least two weeks since I’ve been and, right now, I just feel like I need to move around and sweat out all this frustration from the past few weeks.

Again, while not really a day off to vegetate, it’s going to be a day to get stuff done. Hopefully that will help my state of mind!

Cheers.

Please leave a reply!

