Block 147: July 14, 2013

athousandquiltedcranes147

 

Thank goodness I keep writing the date on these Cranes; I actually had no idea what day it was when it woke up or what I was supposed to be working on.

Anyway, it’s Sunday. Today’s a new day. It’s the same old world, sadly.

Date: July 14, 2013

Crane: 147

Days Spent on Project: 147

Location: Apartment, Washington Heights, NYC

Person I would have sent it to: Emily H.

I met Emily early on in the days of my first semester at Kenyon. Along with Melissa K. (Crane 72), she lead the student LGBT group on campus.

This made her incredibly outspoken, strong, dedicated, aware, conscientious, in the eyes of a young 18 year old. She was, along with Melissa, one of the first people I considered a Leader at Kenyon.

It would be interesting, some 16 years later, to see how (or if) that student group has evolved in its presence and impact on Kenyon’s campus. Not that Kenyon was necessarily an unfriendly campus (I can probably count the times I felt noticeably harassed for my homosexuality over those four years on one hand), but it was the late 90s! I do believe that there is a growing acceptance of LGBT people in general, so I would hope that the group has, in the years in between, less a fringe group… more of an accepted group.

I’m still aware that there a huge hurdles before homophobia and hatred disappear completely. There’s still work to be done.

But, back in 1997, it seemed so courageous that Emily and Melissa were the two public figure heads of this group. And I do think that group, just because of its very existence, was a blessed thing.

We should be thankful that we can find opportunities to connect and reach out and discover communities that welcome us, you know?

Music I listened to while sewing: I started listening to Dance Music again… then I quickly switched over to Sleep No More’s soundtrack.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: I really want a day off. I just do.

I don’t even know what I’m doing today… other than meetings with two (or is their a third?) directors… and then a fitting… and then a rehearsal. Do you suppose if I just don’t check my emails and text messages that the day won’t start?

 

Please leave a reply!

