Block 144: July 11, 2013

IMG_4480

 

Happy birthday to the love of my life! My dog turns FOUR today!

Yay!

Date: July 11, 2013

Crane: 144

Days Spent on Project: 144

Location: Apartment, Washington Heights, NYC

Person I would have sent it to: Jenny L.

Jenny is also one of those “important” life path people. She asked me to design the costumes for her senior thesis, which was staging the musical Cabaret, whose revival starring Alan Cumming had recently opened on Broadway.

Sadly and crazily, I wasn’t familiar with the piece at all. I don’t know how that’s possible because the original production, the revival, and the movie all seem to be important fixtures in the Musical Theatre Cannon.

And you know what’s even crazier? I asked if I could audition for the piece as well. She let me, and then cast me as the MC- even though my singing was rough at best. She gave me the vote of confidence, both on my design and my acting and dancing skills.

So, we set out to do this musical… on a tight budget… at a school without much expressed musical theater interest, I thought… with a lead who isn’t the greatest singer.

And I think we actually did a really good job. I do. Well, at the end of the day, I had fun.

Music I listened to while sewing: Sleep No More again. I really should just consider myself obsessed with it. There really is no way to hide that fact anymore from you guys.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: I am starting to think a career in freelance theater design is like dating in New York City.

The competition to get and keep someone’s attention and interest is cutthroat. Every pairing isn’t guaranteed to succeed. Or even be healthy. Or fun. Or passionate. Sometimes you’ll work with people you realize you can’t stand. Sometimes you’ll realize both parties are operating on different visions of the other or themselves. Sometimes things will produce something exciting, and the relationship will continue on. Other times you can’t wait until the experience or evening is over.

As The Tempest opens tonight, and I wish “Happy Opening” to the director and my interns and the cast (even the two actors who threw temper tantrums directed at me), I really just have to chalk this up as another notch on the belt, another entry in the black book, another line on the resume of my life.

Yeah, it’s not the product I wanted. Yeah, the working relationship wasn’t great. But I’ve lived and learned about tried somethings. We got the costumes together as best we can.

And tonight, or actually the day I turn in my receipts next week, I can move on from this and never think about these people again.

Time to move onto the teaching project I’m currently doing, which could prove to be fun. Time to move onto the show I’m assisting on, which goes into technical rehearsals a week from today. Time to move onto the show for which I’m sketching theoretical designs. Time to move onto the project I’m trying to write with a friend.

Time to go play with my dog. It’s his birthday, and he looks like he wants a hug.

Love him!

Hope you’re doing well, and making the steps you need to make to pack up and move on as best you can.

Cheers.

Please leave a reply!

