Block 137: July 4, 2013

athousandquiltedcranes137

 

Happy Fourth, everyone.

Date: July 4, 2013

Crane: 137

Days Spent on Project: 137

Location: Apartment, Washington Heights, NYC

Person I would have sent it to: Erika P., yet another person from that first year Intro to Theatre (Baby Drama) that we all had to take in order to major in the department.

I think Erika was in almost ALL my theater classes, my dance classes, etc. She migrated more into the dance program at Kenyon as the school years passed; part of her Senior Thesis was to stage manage the final Spring Dance Concert of our Kenyon careers, and then write a paper documenting the process and experience. It was an epic paper.

I remember she designed one piece for a dance concert- was it our sophomore year or senior year? It must have been the former… She put a dancer in a forest green crushed stretch velvet leotard and pants. I remember, even with my very limited design experience, that it was a bold choice.

Velvet has a very interesting relationship to light. I happen to like that relationship a lot, and try to use silk-rayon velvets whenever the opportunity arises (the colors are so deep you could swim in them!). I think I first understood that lesson then.

I always thought Erika was on top of her game, very in control, smart, and I enjoyed having her around.

Music I listened to while sewing: Today, Spotify suggested I listen to an LGBT Pride Playlist, in honor of NYC Pride weekend, which was… um… last weekend.

Lots of Elton John, Cher, Diana Ross, all the 70s apparently, Madonna (of course), and Miley Cyrus.

Don’t get that last one, but maybe it’s a generational thing?

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: Today, a quote from Facebook, from my friend Erika P.

“Everything you’ve ever done, every person you’ve ever met, every experience you’ve ever had, is a part of who you are today, adding interesting layers to your being, and colorful depths to your soul. Everything needed to be as it was, so you could grow as you did and do.”

(I don’t know where the quote came from, sadly. Does anyone?)

And I think that’s a great way to summarize what I’m trying to do with this project. In a way, I think it’s a bit unfair that I’ll be done with this project in another 863 days. What about all the people that I will inevitably meet after that? What if I meet the love of my life on the 864th day? What happens then?

Just a reminder that we, as projects, aren’t ever really finished.

As obscenely “long term” as this project seems to be, it might not be long enough if I truly want to thank everyone who enters my life and contributes to Me.

It’s also interesting to think about how everyone has the overwhelming power to affect your being. Is it possible that my parents have just as much ability to influence my life as the actress who cried during a fitting because I put her in a sleeveless top or my dog or my first boyfriend or the guy who yelled “faggot” at me in Brooklyn back in 2008?

Think about that as you go through your day: each interaction you have, even if it’s just making eye contact as you go your separate ways, has the potential to shift someone, to leave an impression, to cause them to think or learn something.

Life really is about the interaction, isn’t it?

Life really is about other people.

Enjoy your plans for the Fourth. The Dog and I will go to the park soon; then I have sewing to do!

Cheers.

2 thoughts on “Block 137: July 4, 2013

  1. You asked for the name of the person who wrote the words you’ve quoted here. It’s Karen Salmansohn. ‘Hope this helps!

    “Everything you’ve ever done, every person you’ve ever met, every experience you’ve ever had, is a part of who you are today, adding interesting layers to your being, and colorful depths to your soul. Everything needed to be as it was, so you could grow as you did and do.”

    http://notsalmon.com/2011/12/04/everything-youve-ever-done-every-person-youve-ever-met-every-experience-youve-ever-had-is-a-part-of-who-you-are-today-adding-interesting-layers-to-your-being-and-colorful-depths-to-your-soul/

Please leave a reply!

