Block 136: July 3, 2013

athousandquiltedcranes136

 

Deep breaths today. Deep breathes.

Date: July 3, 2013

Crane: 136

Days Spent on Project: 136

Location: Apartment, Washington Heights, NYC

Person I would have sent it to: I’d send this one to Megan B.

Megan didn’t live on our floor in that first year dorm at Kenyon, but I always seemed to run into her in the communal kitchen located in the middle of the floor.

She wasn’t cooking; I remember her doing work there.

I always enjoyed running into her… if only for the conversations and seeing what she was up to. She was an art major, so chances are she was working on something of interest.

She’s now a mother of three children, and lives in Massachusetts. We’re friends on Facebook, and she regularly likes the Crane pictures I post there. Her profile picture is also the quilt block I made for the Human Rights Marriage Equality Campaign, which I’m honored to see…

Music I listened to while sewing: I’m on random today, shuffling myself through some playlists. I’m excited whenever pop music comes on.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: I’m incredibly tired. I was up late, cutting steel boning for these three corsets. I would have done it during the day, but had to run out for supplies downtown and supervise my interns. I gave up with about 30 to go, when I realized I had bruised my palm from cutting the steel with pliers and capping off the ends with steel tips.

My hand is slightly swollen today. Oops.

I’m learning I have standards. I don’t know where or who they came from exactly, but I have them. I’m learning that I really do have to fight with myself NOT to work this much to get what I want.

I’m learning that I surprisingly DO have a skill set when it comes to clothes. I can figure out how things are put together. I can put things together. I need to learn that because of that, or in spite of that, I need to disregard those thoughts.

But then I wrestle with the thought that *I* care and it’s *MY* work and *MY* name and I *CAN* do this and it *DOES* excite me when it happens and comes together.

And that’s when I realize I’m not super-human.

On a side note: my dog hasn’t eaten since yesterday morning. I’m nervous about that too.

 

Please leave a reply!

