Block 134: July 1, 2013

athousandquiltedcranes134

 

Happy July, everyone. Can you believe we’re here?

Date: July 1, 2013

Crane: 134

Days Spent on Project: 134

Location: Apartment, Washington Heights, NYC

Person I would have sent it to: Blair H.

Blair lived on the floor below me in my first year dorm at Kenyon. We were in the same Intro to Theatre class.

I think that may be all that we had in common.

But I was fascinated with her, and I think she was fascinated with me. Maybe. We were paired together a few times in that class; I remember having to work on projects in her dorm room… which always smelled vaguely of incense was decorated like every college dorm room *should* be decorated like (Hendrix poster, fabric wall hanging, clothes everywhere, etc.). We listened to jazz.

One morning, meeting over breakfast, she commented that I was unbelievably healthy for such an early hour. I have always been more of a morning person than not, and have ALWAYS loved breakfast foods so I made it a priority in college (not anymore, sadly). I begged to differ… I was carbo-loading because I was 19 and could do that then.

One evening, working in her room, she showed me a light she was prescribed to have lit in her room. Apparently, she was deficient in Vitamin D, and the UV light would help fill that void. I never noticed that she might not be happy, that she might need something bright to shine on her.

Blair didn’t stay with us at Kenyon the entire four years; she transferred to a different school. It made me strangely sad. While we weren’t more than classmates, I felt like we had a connection.

Knowing that someone else needed a light to focus on… it seemed secretive, but also helpful. I felt down a lot that first year. It was good to know other people might have felt the same way.

Music I listened to while sewing: Today, I’m on iTunes. I’m listening to a playlist I made last winter, when I was designing a show at Providence College in Rhode Island. The shop manager and I were working 12 hour days partially because there was a lot of work to do, but also because we were both excited by what the show looked like. (At least I tell myself that)

I call it my Coffee Shop Playlist… heavy on female songwriters, 80s pop, Motown, and some introspective boys with guitars.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: I want more friends. I think I just do.

I think that’s all I want right now.

One thought on “Block 134: July 1, 2013

  1. I felt instantly calmed, and smiled when I saw today’s crane. Color? Crisp definition? Doesn’t matter. Just like people, eh? Some have the whatever-it-is to make us feel the way we need to feel. Thanks.

Please leave a reply!

