Block 127: June 24, 2013

athousandquiltedcranes127

This morning, all before 9am, I’ve finished sewing one corset mock-up, grommeted THREE corsets, taken a dog walk, and then sewn this Crane.

I’d say I feel victorious, but I’m actually in quite a mood.

Date: June 24, 2013

Crane: 127

Days Spent on Project: 127

Location: Apartment, Washington Heights, NYC

Person I would have sent it to: Eli McC.

Eli McC. lived down the hall from me that first year at Kenyon. She was from Seattle, and going to be an English major. She was also really involved in the Dance department.

And strangely, Eli is yet another one of those people who come along and directly (or indirectly) change the path of your life.

Like I said, Eli enrolled in dance classes, and danced in some of the student dance groups and also the faculty dance shows that happened twice a year. Like Hannah in high school, with her attempts to get me to try out for the high school musicals- which I eventually and acted in, Eli convinced me I should start taking dance classes.

Which lead to dancing in two student dance concerts that first year. Which then lead to dancing in three faculty shows throughout my time at Kenyon, a total of 6 pieces, if I remember correctly. If I had been brave enough, I know I would have (and sometimes I still think I SHOULD HAVE) kept taking classes after college. There are times watching dance that I just feel… jealous?… of the people who have the skill, who kept at it, who wanted to do it. I sometimes feel like I could have tried harder.

Our sophomore year, I ate a late breakfast with a specific group of friends that included Eli two or three times a week.

The Fall semester, Eli was going to choreograph her first piece for the faculty concert. She was lamenting, one breakfast, how she wasn’t thrilled by the department’s costume designer. She wanted something more.

Being naive and inexperienced and overly confident, I agreed with her. The endless combinations of jazz pants and leotards wasn’t thrilling, I said. (In truth, all the costumes weren’t like that, some were fun… but those were usually the faculty-choreographed pieces.)

Eli, then and there, asked me to design the costumes for her two dancers. And I agreed.

And, that was my first costume design.

Which lead to designing pieces for almost every concert thereafter, some student plays, and doing my “Senior Exercise” in acting AND costume design.

And, now, here I am, 15 years later, in New York and working as a costume designer.

And so it goes.

Music I listened to while sewing: Sleep No More. Needed something calming, and the SNM might not seem like that, but the big band pieces are actually quite nice.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: Like I said before, I am in a mood this morning.

I think it’s because I feel like I didn’t get much of a weekend at all, having sewn and shopped and emailed and phone-called for most of it. Four more fittings today, shopping after that, pattern adjusting after that…

Feast or famine, right?

Okay, it’s now 10. I have to get ready to head out and take the day on!

Cheers.

2 thoughts on “Block 127: June 24, 2013

  1. How wonderfully productive. Love the stealth crane, as well as the story of your design start, though I’m sure it had been going on for a long time before that. Let’s hear it for Eli (and her designer)!

Please leave a reply!

