Block 124: June 21, 2013

athousandquiltedcranes124

 

Thankfully, it’s Friday. Even though this weekend is booked with work, the IDEA that it’s the weekend is such a relief. This week can end now.

Date: June 21, 2013

Crane: 124

Days Spent on Project: 124

Location: Apartment, Washington Heights, NYC

Person I would have sent it to: Michelle E.

Yet another one of my first year hall-mates, Michelle came to Kenyon mainly because we had, and still do have, a nationally recognized swimming program.

Michelle was from Australia. Even though I was fairly well traveled at 18 years old and had been out of the country several times, Australia had, and still does has, a interesting enigma about it.

Michelle was determined to swim in the Olympics. And, yes, after doing a quick Google search right now and being directed to her website, it seems that she did compete in the 2004 Olympics.

I remember her, not only for this (because how cool is it that I lived next door to a future Olympian?), but because on the night of August 31, 1997, Michelle walked into my dorm room crying. I was watching the movie Alien with a group of friends.

Through tears, she told us that Princess Diana had been killed in a car accident.

I struck me that a figure like Princess Diana had that much impact on people around the world. Yes, you understand her celebrity, but I never understood how emotionally connected people had been to her status and story.

I think Michelle is a fighter.

Music I listened to while sewing: More Macklemore. Trying to find some new music to switch to, I swear!

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: I don’t really have much to add today.

Well, PunchDrunk’s new production, The Drowned Man, started previewing in London last night. I’m trying desperately to figure out a way to get to London… I’m not sure it’s going to happen, which makes me a bit upset.

I start fittings for The Tempest today, and I’m not looking forward to them. The uniforms we ordered arrived yesterday, and half of them are absurdly oversized. I checked my order form, I told them the correct sizes; everything arrived 10 inches too big. Way to start the weekend.

I had moments yesterday when I believed I was doing well. I do think I have a handle on my work and my career and my life and my dog and my friendships. I’m trying to focus on that instead of worrying that some people like to remind me that I’m wasting my life.

Anyway. As long as I believe I’m okay right now? Right?

Please leave a reply!

