Block 121: June 18, 2013

athousandquiltedcranes121

 

How is it only Tuesday?

Date: June 18, 2013

Crane: 121

Days Spent on Project: 121

Location: Apartment, Washington Heights, NYC

Person I would have sent it to: Gregorio A., hall-mate on my first year dorm’s hall and also Julie B’s (I remembered her last name at 7am this morning!).

Gregorio had a certain mystery about him; he got the hall’s single, which meant he got something none of us really did… privacy.

He also had a SUV, which was pretty cool. Not only did he have access to his own car as a first year, but he had a car big enough that he could pile people in and take road trips.

Not that we did that. Well, at least not very often.

Like the evening three of us decided we needed to see a movie (it had something to do with gangsters, I remember, and featured a scene in a deli with pickles…) and hopped in the car and drove off and went to Columbus (an hour away?) to see this movie on a Friday night and then afterwards didn’t pay attention on the highway and missed our stop and we drove to Cleveland instead. Oops.

We stopped at a truck stop diner in the middle of the night to figure out where we were. We had bad diner food.

Too add some more color to this story, we then got pulled over by the cops. Oops. We weren’t doing anything “bad,” we were just speeding like you do when you’re 18 and young and foolish and it’s 4am and you’re lost and want to get home.

Gregorio was a fun guy. He and Julie soon coupled off after that. They became their own item; I didn’t get to spend much time with them after that.

Music I listened to while sewing: Sleep No More.

I really just need to see it again. To make matters worse (or better), one of my interns this summer on The Tempest is working one of their events this weekend. I told her she had to do it and remember everything about it and report back on Monday. She thought I was joking.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: Day Two of The Tempest, and I’m double booked.

Still feeling a touch overwhelmed as the week starts. It’s nothing bad; I just need to find the time to sit down and work for more than an hour at a time.

This summer will be a lesson in delegation. I have four people now who are chomping on the bit to help. I just need to figure out a way to utilize them as best I can and still leave myself time to work. It’s interesting to learn that “manpower” (hands that are willing to sew, shop, work, etc.) are actually incredibly helpful… but the more hands you have to manage, the less time-effective it is for you.

Interesting lesson…

Need to think of busy work that is actually productive…

Here we go!

Please leave a reply!