Block 118: June 15, 2013

athousandquiltedcranes118

 

The weekend’s here!

Date: June 15, 2013

Crane: 118

Days Spent on Project: 118

Location: Apartment, Washington Heights, NYC

Person I would have sent it to: I think it’s time to dive into my college years.

I went to school at Kenyon, which- looking back- was the perfect choice for me. It’s a small liberal arts college (at the time about 1500 students), located in the Midwest (my parents insisted that I remain in a state touching Indiana); it was bigger than Brebeuf, so I could feel like I was living in a larger community, but still have the opportunity to feel like a “big fish” every once and a while.

The day my parents dropped me off was a blur and a rush of confusion and excitement and annoyance and pride. My parents, in our family’s typical “trying to avoid any awkward situations” tried to sneak off without saying goodbye.

They tell me that they didn’t want to get in the way. Maybe that’s true; I don’t know. All I do know is that they tried to sneak away without saying goodbye.

Anyway, on that confusing day of moving into a strange cinder block and brick dorm, the first person I remember meeting was my RA: Kelly C.

She was an English major (possibly with a minor in Anthropology?). Very enthusiastic. Very much excited about being an RA. While we didn’t end up being best friends, she did do her job well and was there for us and when I needed someone to talk to and was fun.

I was 18 at the time. She was my RA at 19. Can you imagine that: a 19 year old being an authority figure over a bunch of 18 year old first years? It kinda blows my mind.

P.S. I was actually so enamored of Kelly’s job that I was an RA my sophomore year. I wasn’t as good at it as she was.

Music I listened to while sewing: I had gone back down the rabbit hole and am listening to my Sleep No More playlist.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: I am feeling a bit overwhelmed this morning.

We start rehearsals for The Tempest on Monday, and I need to finish re-coloring my sketches. I just need to sit myself down an do it. I’m avoiding it because, no matter how “fast” I am about it, it will always take me more time than I want it to… I’ll obsessively go back and add shadows and highlights and adjust things as the process goes along. Maybe I’ll work on simply “getting the job done” today.

I also want to start building mock-ups for Cailban and Ariel today. Which means I’m going to start building corsets. I actually think that’s fun. I just, again, need to sit myself down and do it. It’ll take a couple days though!

I also need to read a play for a different project that has its first meeting on Tuesday.

I also need to wrap my head around that I have three (THREE!) interns/assistants on The Tempest at my disposal. One is super enthusiastic. I haven’t met the other two yet. What do I do with them?

I also want to get to the gym- even if I can just run for a half an hour.

I also want to get The Dog to the dog run. That’s next on the agenda.

Remember how I lamented that there isn’t time to go out and make friends and be friendly as an adult yesterday? Strangely, I did run into a friend in the garment district yesterday; we talked on the sidewalk for an hour, which was needed.

I still need to figure out a way to get out more. I think this would be easier for me if I could figure out a way to take The Dog with me. He’s better at starting conversations than I am.

Okay, speaking of which, time for the dog run.

The weather is better today in NYC. Hope things are brighter where you are.

Cheers.

4 thoughts on “Block 118: June 15, 2013

  1. Hoping this morning, that you’re not underestimating the effect you have on mere mortals such as I. Your daily commentary always contains a pertinent issue… one with which I still collide or one with which I still grapple. Having you in NY and me in CA gives me a chance to run away, but I don’t. That’s my usual MO. (and that is not a state!)

Please leave a reply!

