Block 111: June 8, 2013

athousandquiltedcranes111

 

Date: June 8, 2013

Crane: 111

Days Spent on Project: 111

Location: Apartment, Washington Heights, NYC

Person I would have sent it to: Nancy M.

As I’ve dwelt on the somewhat mistaken feeling that I have few friends, I’ve also started to wonder if this is a common thread throughout growing up. I always had friends, but I’ve preferred (however, I won’t say I actively meant for this to be) to have a smaller circle of friends. I’ve always liked (and still do) to keep the people who make me comfortable close.

And I’m starting to wonder if this isn’t just me, but an aspect of how I was raised.

My parents are pleasant, well educated, successful, and nice people. But, looking back, I wonder if my parents were in the same position I now feel that I’m in. How many close friends did they have?

But, when you’re raising four children, do you have much time for friends?

My parents did have one set of close friends that did figure in my childhood though.

Nancy M. was the mother. I remember playing at their house, being babysat by their daughters, having meals with them, and visiting with them.

I feel she also took care of us when my parents would leave town for my father’s work. She was nice to us.

I don’t know how she and her family met my parents, or how long they’ve known each other.

But I do know they still are in touch. So, while my parents no longer live in Indiana, they have remained friends with them.

Music I listened to while sewing: I’ve spent the morning listening to the Broadway revival of A Chorus Line.

Tomorrow night the Tony Awards are on! Yay!

And while I wasn’t involved in any shows on Broadway this season, nor did I see many of them, it’s still exciting… the next Broadway season kinda starts Monday, you know? Closures will start to be announced over the summer, and their replacement hopefuls will start to be talked about.

That’s even more exciting…

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: Trying to keep myself busy today. Trying to focus on the things I get to do, as opposed to having to do. Trying to focus on the things that are in my life, as opposed to the things that have alluded me.

Trying to stay positive!

Hope things are well.

Cheers.

Please leave a reply!

