Block 103: May 31, 2013

athousandquiltedcranes103

 

The sun came out this morning. The birds are chirping. The heat is rising.

The world keeps moving, doesn’t it?

Date: May 31, 2013

Crane: 103

Days Spent on Project: 103

Location: Apartment, Washington Heights, NYC

Person I would have sent it to: Marie B., Brebeuf’s theater director.

I maintain that, in each of our lives, there is someone who comes along and shifts our worldview so dramatically, they practically hand us keys to the path we’re supposed to take.

Marie is that person for me.

She was hired to direct Brebeuf’s fall musical and spring play’s my junior year. That first semester, she chose Godspell.

A friend, Hannah G., convinced me to come to auditions as they needed boys to fill out the cast. Completely unprepared and ignorant of what I was about to enter (although I had been cast as a small boy in a production of Hello, Dolly! years before), I walked into Brebeuf’s chapel (where our performances were held) carrying the lyrics to The Carpenter’s Goodbye To Love. I sang the song, a cappella, for Marie.

I was cast as Jesus a few days later.

The rest of my life started at that moment.

There are days when I question deeply what I’m doing with my life. There are times when I realize I will most likely always be poor and saddled with debt that I’ll never pay off. There are times when I feel like I have no control over circumstances that I should. There are times when I see Facebook posts about “milestones,” and I tell myself that my timeline as a freelance artist won’t be littered with those notches necessarily.

But there are the times when things work, when the click happens. I do realize I am a part of a community of artists in New York. I do realize that I’m living the dream that I had as a 16 year old. As much as I realize this career is about luck and chance, I also have to realize I’ve had a great deal of luck and chance thrown my way.

I had the chance to meet up with Marie last summer in New York. It was great to catch up, to hear that she was still pursuing her work in Indiana and enjoying it.

I hope she knows her life has changed mine.

And that’s important, isn’t it? Well, it’s important to realize and learn that perhaps the importance of our lives isn’t about climbing a Mount Everest, but it’s about leaving a lasting impression on someone and showing someone there is a path in life they can choose and opening up a part of the world for someone to see.

Maybe that’s kinda it.

Music I listened to while sewing: The “Top 100 Tracks on Spotify” Playlist. Apparently, this means it’s mostly Daft Punk.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the Block: It’s time to motivate myself.

I’ve got to get to the gym today and run some angst away. I’ve got to sit myself down and draw sketches for the next show.

It’s time to get myself back on track: two days of wallowing was okay, but I’ve got to put some pieces back together.

Here we go…

One thought on “Block 103: May 31, 2013

  1. “I hope she knows her life has changed mine.

    And that’s important, isn’t it? (Absolutely!) Well, it’s important to realize and learn that perhaps the importance of our lives isn’t about climbing a Mount Everest, but it’s about leaving a lasting impression on someone and showing someone there is a path in life they can choose and opening up a part of the world for someone to see.

    Maybe that’s kinda it”.

    You are getting it figured out! Love always….

Please leave a reply!

