Block 92: May 20, 2013

athousandquiltedcranes92

 

What a difference a week makes.

I feel like I’m almost back on track.

Date: May 20, 2013

Crane: 92

Days Spent on Project: 92

Location: Apartment, Washington Heights, NYC

Person I would have sent it to: Amy C., a New York based costume designer and associate costume designer.

She was the first associate I worked under (four years ago!). I was attached to a large musical as an assistant designer. I was young(er) and a little naive about the entire process.

Surely costume design on this scale was the same as any other project I had worked on?

Well, when you have to think numbers and longevity and durability and cost and time and time and so on, the games changes somewhat.

Over that almost half year of work, I learned so much. And I still learn so much thinking back on everything that she did and I saw her do and everyone I met through her and every job I have taken since that one.

So, thank you Amy for teaching me how to operate on this level. I’m not sure I do it as well as you do, but I’m making progress.

Music I listened to while sewing: A wonderfully eclectic mix of Lana Del Rey, Capital Cities, Nina Simone, and the Great Gatsby Soundtrack. A bit scattered, but very enjoyable.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: Even though I spent all last week on the phone, in and out of meetings, and working on all kinds of paperwork, today felt like my first real day on this new musical.

I moved into our studio space. I walked one of the assistants through the show. I gave her a list of things to start doing. I attacked more budgeting paperwork. I sent emails. I made phone calls.

It really does floor me how much non-design and non-creative work goes into (associate) designing a large musical. It’s all about funneling information, documenting everything, hunting for supplies, balancing that bottom line, communicating, being a contact point, and so much more…

There are times when I wonder what side of this job I like more: the design and creating and dreaming and playing and researching and thinking OR the organizing and documenting and facilitating and delegating and paper-working.

I suppose it’s possible to like both. I suppose it’s possible to do both.

I know there’s a lot of work ahead. A lot of late nights. A lot of frustration. A lot of learning.

But there’s that feeling again. That anxious excitement of preparing for that “first day of school” or rehearsal and trying to make something new and different happen out of the thin air.

It’s not the first time I’ve associate or assistant designed a big musical, but this is the first time I’ve spearheaded a project like this from the very beginning steps.

Here’s to the journey.

Off to crunch some numbers.

Hope you’re well.

One thought on “Block 92: May 20, 2013

Please leave a reply!

