Block 85: May 13, 2013

athousandquiltedcranes85

In honor of my fifth trip to see Sleep No More tonight, I name thee “McKittrick.”

I’m more than a little excited.

Date: May 13, 2013

Crane: 85

Days Spent on Project: 85

Location: Apartment, Washington Heights, NYC

Person I would have sent it to: Katie S., someone who started out as a friend of a friend four years ago (!) and has turned into my go-to cohort in Sleep No More fan-dom.

I’ve seen the show with her three times, and I think we’re both obsessed with it for the same reasons… That Punchdrunk has assembled an entire world filled with details that you can hunt for or ignore and characters that you know already but also peopled it with others that add to the backstory of it all… It’s an incredibly well thought out experience.

I think Katie enjoys the intrigue of it all. The opportunity to walk through a theater piece and engage with it, instead of watching and being given the plot. The chance to live in a little bit of a fantasy world that may be scary or dangerous or sexy or weird or empty or confusing.

So, Katie, thank you for always either offering a ticket or agreeing to buy another one in the future.

Someday we’ll do our own Immersive show, of course.

Music I listened to while sewing: My Sleep No More playlist…

Glenn Miller, Peggy Lee, Bernard Herrmann, Billie Holliday, Benny Goodman, etc…

There’s a theme with today’s Crane, obviously.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: It amazes me how one can go from feeling “okay” to overwhelmed within the span of an hour on a Sunday night.

The two projects I have concurrently happening might not want to live well together. One, the BIG show that I have to do for financial and career-related reasons, is going to suck up all my time; that we’re starting that project later than I would normally hope only means more of my time will get shoehorned into it.

The second show, the smaller one that would be more creatively fulfilling and would be a small step (but a valid one) up the design chain, is going to get eaten alive by the first.

I’m now in a position where I have to hire a friend to be the Associate Designer on the small one. Hopefully I can convince her to take it and run with it and finish it. Hopefully I don’t sever ties with that company because of it.

However, as the Associate Designer on the bigger project, I also realize that being so far behind means I need to get my team in gear immediately. Looking to hire two assistants, a Wardrobe Supervisor and an assistant for that team, and also some people to commit to over-hire work for the next three months; it’s a lot to happen fast. It’s only slightly made more difficult by happening in the summer when many people have left the city for other projects.

It just gets me. It really is the cliched “Feast or famine” experience when you choose to work as a Freelance Anything. I couldn’t manage to get arrested in this city a few months back; now I’m trying to hire teams of people because I’m overworked and have the ability to offer my friends and colleagues work and money.

I’m not complaining. I love it. But… Here we go, kids!

So, in the meantime, I’m working during the day and will allow myself the opportunity to experience Sleep No More again. I’ll get the chance to wander into someone else’s world for three hours, where I will try to submerge myself in that dark mystery and not worry about the logistics of budget breakdowns and fabric swatches and team hires and so on.

May you all find a way to escape safely your anxieties this week for a spell.

Cheers.

Please leave a reply!

