Block 69: April 27, 2013

athousandquiltedcranes69

 

The weekend!

Happy Saturday, everyone.

Date: April 27, 2013

Crane: 69

Days Spent on Project: 69

Location: Apartment, Washington Heights, NYC

Person I would have sent it to: I’m pausing in the sequential dedication of Cranes again this morning.

A friend on Facebook commented yesterday that he couldn’t wait to see what I had in store for the 69th Crane, which made me all kinds of concerned. Would I get teased all day about Crane 69? Would it be funny? Why were my friends so… um… immature?

Well, my friend was prophetic. A few friends have giggled on Facebook.

And, if you can’t beat ’em, I guess it’s best to go knowingly along with it. So, today, I dedicate this Crane to Pailo. Pailo helped me get my mojo back, in a manner of speaking.

Music I listened to while sewing: Rodgers and Hammerstein’s Carousel, the 1994 Broadway Revival specifically.

Gorgeous orchestrations, and hearing such a large group of singers on stage! When will that style get back to Broadway?

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: Today I’m reminding myself the importance of being patient and not counting any chickens before those proverbial eggs have hatched. I got two phone calls yesterday about two projects that would happen unfortunately simultaneously over the summer.

One would be a design project with a downtown theater, Shakespeare’s The Tempest. It would be a great credit to have, a good company to start a relationship with, and also more work.

The other would be an associate design project for a Broadway show. It’ll be a lot of work, but I’ll be compensated nicely and get the chance to work on a challenging, *big* project… which is what I’ve been wanting to do all year.

There’s a very small chance that I won’t get attached to either one. So, I’m trying not to breathe a sigh of relief or get too excited or talk to anyone about it yet.

There’s also the chance that I might get attached to both, which would be complicated- not impossible, just difficult- to carry out. Would I have to choose? Financially, one makes complete sense; I need to make some money as this year has only seen small and underfunded projects come my way. Artistically, the design project would get my creative juices flowing, and it would be nice to have the opportunity to get known for designing again.

Pluses and minuses on both sides.

But, nothing is set. So I just need to sit still for a few days until more conversations start happening.

I’m aware it’s a good problem to have. I’m not trying to complain.

So, let’s all remember to wait our turn, but to seize opportunity when the time comes.

Let’s remember never to assume, but hope.

Let’s remember to seek balance, hopefully finding a way to satisfy what makes us happy with making a living.

Let’s remember to take life as it comes.

Let’s remember to keep moving.

Cheers, all. Time for my to walk my dog.

Please leave a reply!

