Block 63: April 21, 2013

athousandquiltedcranes63

Color pairing inspired by a fabric we used in Fela! on one of the male dancers.

I think they were my favorite ones in the show…

Date: April 21, 2013

Crane: 63

Days Spent on Project: 63

Location: Apartment, Washington Heights, NYC

Person I would have sent it to: Just because New York likes to remind us at extremely random times and in the most bizarre ways imaginable that it’s actually a very small island and not a large expanse, we’re gonna break with my thoughts about Middle School for the day. Ken U., this Crane is for you.

Yes, we only dated for possibly a month a year ago. (Given my track record, that’s an accomplishment for me; I’m sure you all understand by this point.) Yes, things were fun. (It’s not every day that I worry about what clothes I’m wearing or how I’m behaving or get excited about what’s happening.) Yes, I’m not really sure what we were getting into. (Was it casual or serious?) Yes, the experience evaporated into thin air just as quickly as it began. (Seriously: Zero to a hundred and then back to zero.) Yes, I told myself it was a matter of bad timing, rather than something I did.

Yes, I might have even told myself your true colors were coming out for the weird disappearing act.

But, wow. It seems that by moving to this new apartment in Washington Heights, I moved into your neighborhood.

Huh.

Good to see you. Good to have your phone number again. (I didn’t actually accidentally erase my phone’s contacts last year. I’ve been  lying to myself.)

I’m not sure what New York was trying to prove by the re-introduction.

We’ll just have to see.

Music I listened to while sewing: Started with Mika’s album The Origin of Love from last year. He’s really under appreciated and deserves to be more popular; his cover of the musical Wicked’s song Popular is actually genius.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: Ladies and gentlemen, I am incredibly excited today! I finally get to see Then She Fell tonight with a friend who’s driving in from Connecticut. It’s a new immersive theater/dance piece that’s taking place in a former hospital out in Brooklyn. 15 audience members are guided through the experience; its plot uncovers myths and stories about the characters in Lewis Carroll’s Alice in Wonderland, including Carroll and the girl who Alice was based on, Alice Liddell.

It’s a genre of theater I want the opportunity to work in… I’m trying to figure out a way to work with companies that demand that the audience be included in the experience and engages them, rather than sitting in a seat, behind a fourth wall. I think the Immersive experiment could really take theater into a new generation.

I really just want to work on something where you have to make big choices, and don’t necessarily have to play it safe. Not necessarily post-modern theater that deconstructs text, but takes text and re-imagines how we can make the text’s world fully fleshed out.

Anyway, I’m hoping for some inspiration tonight.

And I hope you all have something that inspires you and moves you as well. After last week, let’s work on ways to keep us progressing forward and enriching existence, rather than tearing it down.

Cheers, friends.

2 thoughts on “Block 63: April 21, 2013

  1. I have been waiting for block 63, as I am claiming it for mine having reached the age of 63 not long ago! Your message today is my inspiration. Now that I’m where I am, I can look back on my life, my behaviors in life with some shakes of the head, and a lot of shrugs of the shoulders, too. It hasn’t necessarily changed all of the questionable ways I’ve dealt with things, but has been quite revealing. And, oh yes, I love today’s crane!

Please leave a reply!

