Block 62: April 20, 2013

athousandquiltedcranes62

Doesn’t the world just feel a little bit lighter today; like we all let out a collected held breath?

Date: April 20, 2013

Crane: 62

Days Spent on Project: 62

Location: Apartment, Washington Heights, NYC

Person I would have sent it to: Alina L-O., a friend in middle school and a bridge to friends in high school.

Alina and I didn’t really become friends until the end of our eighth grade year when we realized we were both heading to Brebeuf Jesuit for high school. So, she’s actually one of the few people who knew what I believe was the Old Me and then also the New Me, the one who developed at least some confidence in myself, as high school progressed.

She navigated the social waters of both schools quite easily, fitting in both places securely, it seemed. It took a bit of effort for me to find my bearings in my new school, especially after what I thought of myself from middle school.

Alina saw me when I had that weird and misguided rural Indiana mullet hair style (it was leftover from the 80s, people) and also when I cut all my hair off in high school.

Alina also advised me I needed baggier jeans, as was the style in the early 90s. I remember that clearly; walking down the stairs from the gym entrance to the lower level lockers, she came up to me and told me mine were too tight to be fit in. (How circular fashion is!)

By junior year, she and I were solidly in the same group of friends. I even bought her a CD, Heathernova, for a Secret Santa exchange. She thanked me for that.

She was, and still is, pretty cool; she and I follow each other on Facebook.

Music I listened to while sewing: I relapsed into my Chill Out playlist on Spotify. I have no idea what I’m listening to right now, but it’s mellow and calm and much needed.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: I’ve come to the conclusion that I don’t like to drink. I had some wine last night just to relax after an intense week of shopping for the Opera, tech rehearsing that show, drawing sketches for another, and trying to research for a different dance piece that happens in two weeks (yikes!). I wish I didn’t; my sleep wasn’t very restful and I didn’t get anything accomplished last night.

Good lesson to learn: I actually relax better at night when I keep active (albeit at a slower pace) and do things rather than “calm down” with wine.

Good to realize.

Please leave a reply!

