Block 59: April 17, 2013

IMG_3993

 

It’s only Wednesday.

The weekend cannot get here fast enough.

Date: April 17, 2013

Crane: 59

Days Spent on Project: 59

Location: Apartment, Washington Heights, NYC

Person I would have sent it to: Brooke R., one of the good friends from middle school!

Sarah (yesterday’s Crane) and Brooke… how did I become friends with them? I really can’t remember. I don’t remember why or how we connected originally. I don’t really recall what we did as friends.

But we were friends for those two years. And, looking back, it was great to have them in my daily life… To have people who liked me… who “got” me… who had fun in my company…

Friends really do get you through life, don’t they?

I really wish I knew what happened to all these people.

Music I listened to while sewing: a group called Lemon Jelly and their album Lost Horizons. It quickly turned into listening to the song “Space Walk” on repeat.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: Another long day of shopping for this production. Another eight hours of pounding the pavement, looking for increasingly specific clothes and supplies for a show that opens on Sunday. I feel like it might be a little behind because I got increasingly more and more “vital” and “important” and “urgent” texts through the day: Get this, find that, shop more of this, look into…

After eight hours, no lunch break, and miles walked, I said I was done for the day. I fell asleep on the subway.

When the A train pulled up to my stop, I got out and shuffled home to walk the dog. We patrolled the neighborhood, met up with a few people, spent some time in the dog run, and went back home.

What I didn’t do was head to the wine store for a bottle of wine, my go-to “I need to relax” cure-all after a frustrating day. Instead I had a diet coke. And instead of ordering take-out, I made myself a sandwich and inhaled it.

As inconsequential as those two things sound, they are big. I didn’t cave into my crutches. I didn’t let myself believe that I needed cheap food or alcohol to unwind.

I made a Crane instead.

This is a good thing.

Tomorrow is another day, folks. And I have laundry to do tonight so I can start using more fabric that I bought at City Quilter this past weekend.

Have a good night, everyone.

Baby steps and important; small progress is progress nonetheless.

 

2 thoughts on “Block 59: April 17, 2013

  1. This is really a lovely crane. Don’t you just love those friends throughout your life who “get” you? It would be a lonely world without them, and a less creative one as well. I also can’t wait for the weekend. No particular reason.

    • I’m learning how incredibly necessary friends are… Friends you can see and talk to easily. It’s too easy these days to rely on the friends we have over media like Facebook and Twitter and so on. We need to connect to people in real life to!

Please leave a reply!

