Block 52: April 10, 2013

athousandquiltedcranes52

Better picture, better lighting, better focus. Although the picture is slightly off-center.

You’re never perfect, ladies and gentlemen.

Date: April 10, 2013

Crane: 52

Days Spent on Project: 52

Location: Apartment, Washington Heights, NYC

Person I would have sent it to: Sydney G., fellow costume designer and frequent costume assistant/associate. I only worked with her for the first time a year ago, but the work we do together is always fun and pleasant. It isn’t without stress, but she’s prepared, gets stuff done, and is a nice energy to have in the room.

She balances things out.

And, she’s given me a reason to run around town this week, looking for slinky nightgowns, silk pjs, cheap jewelry, belts galore, trashy shirts and skirts, and bras bras bras! It’s good to have the work this week. It’s good to know some money is coming in. It’s good to be reminded that people do think I’m a talented, organized, and resourceful assistant. It’s good to know people.

Plus, she’s starting grad school at the Yale School of Drama this fall. I’d say she has no idea what she’s in for, but she does; at 27, she has much more experience and more better understanding of what theatrical design means than I did when I enrolled at 24.

Good luck and thank you.

Music I listened to while sewing: Sondheim’s Sunday in the Park with George.

Do you get that the original Broadway cast recording is something that I listen to at least once a week? Yes, I enjoy theater and musical theater. Yes, I think Sondheim is an important figure. Yes, I’m biased.

But each listen… I mean, come on: How do you not uncover another layer to this show with every listen? How do the narrative and emotional and aural journeys within the show *not* punch you in the gut and the heart and the mind?

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: Ugh.

Tired doesn’t even begin to describe how I feel today.

I have to remind myself that a full 8-hour day of shopping for productions is not like it used to be… I’m not in my early 20s anymore, and I’m starting to feel the difference. Eight hours of running in every direction, jumping on the subway whenever you can, and hitting every possible store that might possibly have that ONE article of clothing is actually very tiring. Shopping for theater is not easy, nor is it glamorous, nor is it a privileged thing; it is work. And it is hard work, especially in a city like New York where most of your day will be spent walking everywhere and carrying everything with you while you do it.

I am told that there are people who actually spend their free time wandering around the city, shopping for themselves and making it a social activity… They shop for enjoyment.

I’m jealous of them.

The joy of hunting-gathering clothes has been lost on me, sadly. I wish it weren’t. All my clothes have evolved into a very strict color palette (grey or blue), silhouette (jeans and dress shirts), and style (“denim and grey tweed,” according to a friend). This does need to change; I’m obviously aware that the sartorial appearance you present to the world reflects what you want the world to see you as. While there is a very specific reason why I dress like I do, I’m beginning to understand that it’s time to move beyond that image. It’s time to open up, bring some color back into my wardrobe again, and spend some time dressing the “life” I want the world to think I live.

Sigh.

Anyway, I was going to start working on another project tonight, but right now the floor looks very comfortable. I might even turn on Netflix and order take-out.

Papa’s pooped.

Good night, everyone. Let yourself relax, and let’s take tomorrow on!

Please leave a reply!

