Block 48: April 6, 2013

athousandquiltedcranes48

 

Used one of the “aboriginal prints” my friend in Oregon sent me a while back, pairing it with a maroon batik.

I need to find more of those prints; they’re interesting!

I set this pairing aside last night, right before I went to bed. When I looked at it again this morning, I almost disregarded it for another hunt through my small stash of fabrics. I looked at pairing a sand colored fabric with an olive and white print, but chickened out at the last minute and went back to this.

It’s always interesting to me certain fabrics seem so destined to be paired together, yet those fabrics can make me incredibly cautious just hours later. I don’t know what that says…

Date: April 6, 2013

Crane Number: 48 (952 to go!)

Location: Apartment, Washington Heights, NYC

Person I would have sent it to: Jennifer G., yet another one of my girl (space) friends from elementary school. She was also (for a brief shining non-event of a moment) my girlfriend in sixth grade. I can’t remember the circumstances behind the pairing; I honestly think that our very chaste and very boring “relationship” started because she sent me a “Will you date me? Circle Yes or No” letter in class. The extent of our time together meant we sat on swings next to each other at recess.

Nothing more, nothing less.

So, yes, ladies and gentlemen, in case you ever wondered: I did try dating girls at one point in my life.

Music I listened to while sewing: Antonio Carlos Jobim… which will forever remind me of all the dance classes I took in undergrad. Why did all my choreography friends LOVE his work so much and create dances to his music so often? I think I bought the CD because they all had it; I’m just now appreciating how good the music actually is.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: I’m making the attempt to see friends more this weekend. Last night was dinner with one friend, today is an afternoon Opera workshop/showing downtown with another, tomorrow is dinner with a different group (and I fear this dinner is an attempt to set me up on a blind date. I emphasize FEAR), and Monday is an afternoon at the Metropolitan Museum of Art (a friend is giving me a tour of the “Impressionism, Fashion, and Modernity” exhibit on the day the museum is closed! BONUS!).

Trying to spin myself in a more positive direction. Trying to spend more time on me. Trying to worry less about work and finding more work. Trying to remind myself that I do have a social network in New York that I can hang out with.

Trying to be kind to myself!

Enjoy the weekend; The Dog is demanding that I take him out now. We were out two hours ago, but apparently Nature is calling- maybe even yelling- once again.

Cheers.

Please leave a reply!

