Block 37: March 26, 2013

athousandquiltedcranes37

Tuesday, friends!

And it’s slightly sunnier than what it was yesterday… but it feels just as cold. Spring cannot get here fast enough!

Date: March 26, 2013

Location: Apartment, Washington Heights, NYC

Person I would have sent it to: Danielle K., another Elementary School friend.

Music I listened to while sewing: More Sleep No More music. Currently, it’s Bernard Herrmann’s Theme from Vertigo (another brilliant movie).

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block:

You’d think after thirty-some of these Cranes, I would be a bit more adventurous in choosing my fabric pairings. Last night, right before bed, I set aside three pairings; when I woke up this morning and stumbled over to the sewing machine with a cup of coffee, I couldn’t commit to any of them.

Were they strong enough? Were they good compliments? Too contrasting? Should it be a day of “tone-on-tone”? Should I try to get a new color in there?

I need to remind myself with this project that I will always (well, for the next 963 days or so) need to put another Crane together the next day. If my Crane doesn’t turn out well enough today, there is always tomorrow’s Crane.

There will always be tomorrow.

(Except when there’s not, apparently. A man at the dog run reminded everyone yesterday to live today to the fullest; never to take tomorrow for granted! I’m giving myself conflicting messages…)

Perhaps it’s better to say: Embrace today as best you can. Anticipate tomorrow, but don’t depend on it.

Much like the down days I have, I should anticipate that tomorrow is another chance to tackle any opportunities that come my way. If, by chance, I don’t get enough of some projects finished OR treat myself to a guilty-bad meal OR have a few too many glasses of wine with friends OR don’t get to the gym… there will be tomorrow.

Not to condone procrastination, certainly, but I need to remember that while it’s important to take it one day at a time, I will have another day ahead of me.

Ahead of us.

Cheers. Hope your respective Tuesdays go well.

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Block 37: March 26, 2013

  1. Even if you’re giving yourself conflicting messages, those of us out here in blogreader land are getting just what we need from your every day musings. Some hit home with aplomb!

Please leave a reply!

