Block 13: March 2, 2013

athousandquiltedcranes13

Another Saturday behind a sewing machine, folks. Not sure how I feel about this today.

Date: March 2, 2013

Location: Apartment, Washington Heights, NYC

Person I would have sent it to: my niece, Hazel.

Music I listened to while sewing: The Downton Abbey marathon via Netflix continued. I will have to think of a different way to watch Seasons 2 and 3 as they aren’t available for Instant Streaming.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: You know, I just told myself to embrace the Elizabethan/Jacobean dress project I’m working on for what it is. This show will only play for two weeks. It’s in a small space. I don’t have all the materials and equipment that I feel would help me take the dress to the next level. it had to be finished in a week.

I needed some extra work. I needed to think about something else.

It’s for a friend who was (and is) overworked and overbooked. I don’t know how much help I’ve been. I’ve only worked on this one dress. Because of the nature of the production and the company, it’s been a “fluid” process. I’m not sure how much more I could have helped out.

I keep reminding myself that it is for a friend who asked for help.
Whenever I stare at the un-finished edges of the fabric, starting to fray or the hand-stitching I had to do with grey thread (on a pale pink outfit!) or the plastic boning I had to use since steel was too expensive or the gaff tape I used to finish the farthingale which was also made out of a hula hoop and a plastic awning, I keep reminding myself that it’s for a friend. It’s not for me.

One job at a time, right?

I need to remind myself that another project… one that excites me… one that keeps my mind occupied… one that gets the creative juices flowing… I tell myself that another one will come along.

One job at a time.

Please leave a reply!

