Block 11: February 28, 2013

athousandquiltedcranes11

I’ve dived back down the “tone-on-tone” rabbit hole, as it were!

I feel like this Crane Block might be more successful than yesterday’s entry. I’m not sure. It’s still up in the air at this point.

It’s leading me to question my original intent on how to finish this Quilted Crane project. Originally, I was going to piece them together in sequential order, hoping that it would be easier that way for someone to come along later and find a specific block. But *now* I’m wondering if it might be interesting to block them in groups by color. After 1000 of these, who knows what kind of desperate and interesting combinations I’ll have? I might be able to make a rainbow of sorts out of them. I can indicate the number/person for each crane in some other way…

Maybe I can quilt the name and number onto each block?

Maybe?

Date: Feb. 28, 2013

Location: Apartment, Washington Heights, NYC

Person I would have sent it to: my nephew, Zach.

Music I listened to while sewing: the Pet Shop Boys.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: Woke up still feeling some of the euphoria from yesterday’s birthday. While I didn’t get the opportunity to go out or celebrate in public, it strangely was nice to get Facebook notifications all day from people who were sending me well-wishes. Even if it is one day out of the year, to have a group of people from many different areas of my life coming together (however virtually and even if for just a moment) for the sole purpose of wishing me a happy birthday… that was nice.

It even happened on Twitter.

I need to remember to take that feeling with me. That there are people out there who I can call friends. That people out there do appreciate me. That people acknowledge that I exist.  That I’m not necessarily going at it alone here in New York.

Now I just have to work on taking those virtual connections and making them actual ones. I have to get more social time in my life. Somehow.

I’m starting to learn- or maybe accept- that it’s hard (for me) to have close friends who also work in design and theater. My father nailed it on the head once: he told me he believes, just because of the nature of freelance and theater work, that there’s always an element of competition and need amongst people in our field. He told me it’s hard to build solid relationships with a group of people when there exists an element of competition.

The need for work. The need for acknowledgement. The need for reliability in this field.

I do need to make having a social life more of a priority, I do. I’m starting to wonder if this means I have to venture beyond my tendency to socialize only with theater people. I wonder, at times, if that desire to know people outside of theater means something more.

Who knows.

But tonight, I have a ticket to see Talley’s Folly at Roundabout. And after that, I have more of an Elizabethan dress to assemble!

Good night.

Please leave a reply!

