Block 10: February 27, 2013

athousandquiltedcranes10

Today’s Crane appears to be hiding!

Not sure how I feel about about this fabric, color, and pattern combination. Last year, I went through a phase where I made a few quilts that I termed the “tone-on-tone” series. And, because I am who I am, most of them ended up being in grey-scale.

Seeing a large quilt, made out of 10-20 different shades of grey tones and patterns ended up looking pretty swell.

Not sure how I feel about this attempt though.

You guys see the Crane, right?

Date: Feb. 27, 2013

Location: Apartment, Washington Heights, NYC

Person I would have sent it to: my niece, Elizabeth.

Music I listened to while sewing: Anyone heard of Shoubaiyameta? (crickets chirping in the background)

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: Here’s an admission for everyone… it’s my 34th birthday… and I didn’t do anything to celebrate it, other than acknowledge the avalanche of Facebook well-wishes and wall posts. I was actually too busy to do anything; woke up early and tired (ended up enjoying last night’s evening of “no work allowed!”), got myself out to Bushwick for a day of work in a theater space. I figured out my issues with yesterday’s farthingale, mocked-up a sleeve, and fit a corset, bodice, skirt, and said farthingale.

I continually surprise myself that I was able to sit myself down and pattern the aforementioned garments, and that they fit (with a few minor adjustments)! Sometimes I surprise myself. I know it shouldn’t at this point.

So, ladies and gentlemen, friends, followers, random discoverers of this blog: I am officially in my (early) mid-30s. I’ve accomplished a lot in these past 34 years. Here’s a big hope and wish that I continue to make progress. Here’s hoping that I move towards fulfillment. Here’s hoping I move towards being a better person. Here’s hoping the future is bright.

Thanks for following! To the process!

P.S. My mother just told me to eat some cake tomorrow.

4 thoughts on “Block 10: February 27, 2013

  1. I like it. You are making so many, so it is interesting to have variety. I wonder if this one will stand out as being very different or will you end up making some similar to this one.

    • I have a feeling I’ll revisit the “tone-on-tone” idea. Although I might think of something (like pattern or scale) to help make some visual contrast. In the end, I’ll have to quilt it in a way to get the crane to pop out a bit!

Please leave a reply!

