Block 8: February 25, 2013

athousandquiltedcranes8

Another one done! 992 more to go…

I successfully managed to get quarters from the bank! I am currently washing 32 fat quarters so I have a bigger pool of fabrics to choose from! Success on the Crane-homefront today!

I’m now getting confident enough with this Crane project that not only am I trimming my overly healthy half-inch seam allowance, I’m even clipping away at corners and angles to get the fabric to lay a bit flatter. Who knows how brave I’ll get as this project goes along?

Date: Feb. 25, 2013

Location: Apartment, Washington Heights, NYC

Person I would have sent it to: Brother-in-law, Lance, married to my sister Jeanne.

Music I listened to while sewing: No music. Instead I turned on Netflix Instant Streaming and started to watch My So-Called Life. Sadly short-lived, this show premiered on TV when I started my Freshman year in high school. It felt brilliant and true and awkward and sincere and I wanted to be friends with Angela and Rickie and Rayanne. I wanted to date Jordan Catalano. I felt like Brian. Nice to know it still seems honest. The clothes we wore twenty years ago might not have aged as well though.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: I’m a bit flustered today by a sewing project I’ve undertaken for a friend’s show in Brooklyn. I’m attempting to build a Jacobean dress. It needs to be wearable by Friday. HA! My friend said we can take all the short cuts we need; she’s suggesting using a hula hoop for the farthingale structure, and maybe not using as much boning in the bodice. But she also wants it to be the most realistic looking outfit in the show (the aesthetic is knowingly “jankety”). I draped the bodice and understructure on my dress form last night (after padding it to the right measurements), but hit a wall when I realized that I didn’t have the right materials to do it the correct way.

I’m trying to make myself comfortable using short cuts and not going overboard on the period correctness of the outfit. It’s proving to be a little difficult for me to let go. But, I’m trying my hardest!
The goal tonight is to have all the boning channels sewn, the bones inserted and the bodice pieced together. Tomorrow I want to tackle the farthingale and start the over-robe’s yoke, pleating and collar. I think if I get that done for the fitting tomorrow night, I can proceed with everything else without needing to re-see the actress. I think?

Okay, off to get my fat quarters from the laundry room! Ta ta…

Please leave a reply!

