Block 6: February 23, 2013

athousandquiltedcranes6

Saturday night, and I’m spending the evening in to finish this quilt block!

Who said all New York evenings were fabulous?

But, who might be suggesting this particular New York evening ISN’T fabulous? (I will admit to having a glass of wine right now; it’s been a long week, and I just arrived home at 8:30. Fabulous, right?)

Anyway, very excited that tomorrow I’ll be able to launder the fat quarters I bought yesterday. All my quilting scraps that remain now are grey, black, and white. While I enjoy those colors, as evidenced by the many fabrics I seem to buy that are only those colors, it’s gonna make this quilt a bit monochromatic. Time to wash some cottons, and get more color and patterns in there!

But, for the record, I do like this Zebra-Crane.

Date: Feb. 23, 2013

Location: Apartment, Washington Heights, NYC

Person I would have sent it to: My younger brother, Mark. And so ends my Crane dedication to my immediate family (parents and siblings). Like I’ve said before, I’ve been blessed with a comfortable and supportive relationship with my parents; the same can be said for my siblings. The four of us might have diverged in our life paths physically (we’re all in different areas of the country) and vocationally (one is a stay-at-home mom, two are lawyers, and I’m the artistic-weird one), but I believe that we all get along, understand, and support each other when we’re in the same room. I’m lucky to have had a family experience that didn’t make me want to run away and abandon them to the past. I’m curious about their lives and what they’re doing; that I don’t make it more of a priority to stay current with them is no one’s fault but my own. I should make a point to call them all soon.

Music I listened to while sewing: Sondheim’s Sunday in the Park with George (the Original Broadway Cast Recording with Bernadette Peters, of course).

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: Relief! It’s been a Saturday of extremes today; started the day off too early with two meetings for potential shows/projects and ended the work day with a very rough rehearsal for a show I’m helping a friend finish. The first few meetings were very exciting. A friend wants me to design a “re-imagined” Miss Julie. I’m not too keen on the play as it’s written and usually performed, but this production wants to twist the audience’s investment in the characters Miss Julie and Jean: we should want them to get together, and then want them to stay together. The visuals they showed me from previous workshops were interesting. I’m hoping the two projects with them work out.

The day ended with a rough run-through of a show that’s happening really quick (too quick?). I’m not sure what I think about the piece seeing it staged, but I feel the design elements (both sets and costumes) will answer a lot of my questions. Here’s hoping?

On that note, I can’t wait for tomorrow: I get to drape, pattern, and start sewing a mock-up of a Jacobean gown for my friend’s show!

(fingers crossed.)

Wish me luck.

Please leave a reply!

