Block 5: February 22, 2013

athousandquiltedcranes5

TGIF!

Number 5; only 995 left to go and one-two-hundredth of the way there!

Doesn’t the finish line seem so close?

I feel like cutting all the pattern pieces is still taking me the most time. Even eye-balling the seam allowance, I’d still like to whittle down the minutes it takes me to cut out these 17 pieces. Maybe tomorrow I won’t watch RuPaul’s Drag Race while attempting to do this. Sewing, on the other hand, seems to take about the same amount of time as it always had.

I am nothing, if not consistent.

Practice makes perfect!

Date: Feb. 22, 2013

Location: Apartment, Washington Heights, NYC

Person I would have sent it to: My other sister, Jeanne. Family at the front.

Music I listened to while sewing: “Ho Hey” by The Lumineers. Have you all heard it yet, or am I the last person to notice them?

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: After last night’s frustration with theater education, I spent a night thinking about what it is I could do to help these kids (okay, students) understand what it is I do as a designer and give them the confidence to make some choices on their own.

It was a weighty night, for sure. I’ll admit that I’m only a guest teacher right now, filling in for a friend who’s out of town for a production she’s designing. So these kids aren’t “mine” necessarily; they’re hers. It’s interesting to walk into a class and have to take someone else’s “process” and continue it, as if every designer shares the same steps and checks and balances on the path to a show’s design. We don’t. Mine is very different than all of my colleagues, just like my work is very different than theirs. I hope I continued the path they’ve been sent down for now.

Anyway, for the kids I might teach someday (my mother asks why I don’t pursue it seriously as I frequently get hired as a Guest Instructor/Designer), I’d hope that I’d instill the ability to know how to read a script, how to research, how organize their thoughts, how to communicate their thoughts visually and verbally, form a point of view, and collaborate. I’d want them to understand that designers aren’t simply the people who draw pretty pictures and make sets and clothes appear; we are also actors and directors with opinions that shape productions.

And also, I’d want them to understand that drawing isn’t brain surgery. It isn’t something to fear, it’s a skill: like sewing it’s something that you can be taught, but you have to sit yourself down and do it (just do it!) to know how.

Thanks; happy Friday, everyone.

2 thoughts on “Block 5: February 22, 2013

Please leave a reply!

