Block 4: February 21, 2013

IMG_3722

Another day, another block!

Four down, 996 to go!

Date: Feb. 21, 2013

Location: Apartment, Washington Heights, NYC

Person I would have sent it to: My eldest sister, Jeni. We’re continuing with family first here!

Music I listened to while sewing: Katy Perry (sorry, not so sorry)

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: I think too much. Today I’m wondering what’s up with theater education programs in the country. What are we teaching young designers? Are we even teaching them? Are we teaching them responsibly/responsibility? Asking them to think? Asking them to make choices?

A part of me hopes that the theater designers of tomorrow know that design is more than choosing an interesting picture and putting it on stage. Conversely, I also hope that theater designers are striving to make bold choices but choices that add insight to the piece, instead of just messing with the piece.

This all makes me feel like an old fart.

To the cranes of tomorrow!

Please leave a reply!

