Block 3: February 20, 2013

quilted crane

Number Three! It’s still taking me about an hour to put one of these together, although I am cutting the pieces out faster (and eye-balling the seam allowance at this point, which is still a generous half an inch). I keep getting stuck on a few of the triangles that have similar side lengths; most of the pieces are so irregular that I can easily tell how things are stitched together. But two of them… I always have to think, and today and I pieced one triangle incorrectly (we’re not all perfect!). Well, after 997 more of these, I’m hoping to be able to do the sewing in my sleep.

I’m debating when to start adding the four triangles to the corners to finish the block. Now? Later? I’m hesitating doing it now because I’ll want to start sewing them together; it feels to soon to do that!

Three finished, 997 left to tackle!

Date: Feb. 20th, 2013

Location: Apartment, Washington Heights, NYC

Person I would have sent it to: OKAY, so since I made the rules to this game, I’m saying that today’s block will go to my French Bulldog. Yeah, I know he’s not a person and doesn’t really understand what I’m doing or what a quilt is, but he’s pretty important. I’ve had him since December 2009, and his adoption was one of the big life events I’ve had. Yes, we all know that dogs (like children) change a lot about one’s life, and a fair number of people in theater couldn’t understand why I would do something like “get a dog” so early in my career… But, you know what? He’s been one of the greatest stabilizing factors in my life for over three years now. A life in the Theater isn’t linear, steady, dependable. A freelance career (designing, assisting, shopping, illustrating, acting, teaching, and now quilting) is hard. To know, at the end of the day, regardless of what’s happened, what curveball was thrown, what job I lost, what demand was made, what check didn’t arrive, etc… to know that a 25-pound French Bulldog will hop over to me when I get home and walk next to me as he patrols the neighborhood, that feeling is pretty great. It’s good to know that someone in this city counts on me day-in and day-out and enjoys having me around. Yes, it has been hard at times and I have had to make changes to my work schedule, but I will still say that he’s the best thing I’ve got right now.

Music I listened to while sewing: that new Justin Timberlake song. It’s okay…

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: Only three days into the project, and I’m enjoying the sense of “responsibility” it’s giving me. Maybe I just need more going on in my life right now, but it’s feels good to wake up and have something to work on that is purely for fun.

Please leave a reply!

