Block 2: February 19, 2013

And the second block was finished this morning! And progress was made: I finished it much faster than yesterday, I feel as if- besides one *small* 1/8th of an inch irregularity on an angle- the stitching was much more exact, and I was even so bold as to trim away a lot of the healthy half-inch seam allowance I included for stitching insurance!

I’ve decided, as I move towards finishing this project, that I’ll sew triangles onto the corners of the block so I can easily stitch the blocks together and create one long “banner” of quilted cranes.

Have also further realized the scope of this project. If I continue to piece together one block a day, it will take me over two and a half years to complete 1000 quilted cranes. THEN, I’ll have the arduous task of piecing them together (if I haven’t already), actually quilting them, and then binding the edges. If these blocks are around 10 inches square, and I sew each block in one continuous line, this “banner” will be 10,000 inches long. That’s over 800 feet. Really?

It might be well into 2016 before this is done.

Well, for now, the goal remains the same! I’ll keep thinking about this, and see if any changes need to be made.

But for now: two down, 998 to go…

Date: Feb. 19th, 2013

Location: Apartment, Washington Heights, NYC

Person I would have sent it to: Since yesterday was my mother, today’s block will go to my father in Richmond, VA. I want to admit that I’ve been very lucky to have the parents that I have; they’re supportive of my desire to work in the theater and have helped me emotionally, mentally, and even financially along the way. While I do have times when I wish they were more excited about the work I do, had more of an interest in it, *liked* or *enjoyed* seeing theater, or even understood more of what I do, those are all moot points. They understand I want to do this. They tell me they want me to succeed. They’re okay with me being gay. I really can’t complain at all about them; to do so would be immature. I’ve been lucky and blessed in that regard.

Music I listened to while sewing: Ke$ha.

Thoughts/feelings behind the block: Today was a big ole “Meh?” kind of day. Not really excited about much. Didn’t sleep well. Felt gross and still tired when my dog got me up. Hoped to get to the gym, but didn’t have time. The weather was gray and drizzly all day. The subway was slow. Not much excitement tonight (Fresh Direct delivery to arrive shortly though!); I kinda just want to do some random organizing tonight, watch Netflix, and have a glass of wine. And try to sleep more?

Here’s to tomorrow!

2 thoughts on “Block 2: February 19, 2013

Please leave a reply!

