Block 1: February 18, 2013

IMG_3712

I finished the first block this afternoon!

First time cutting out the pieces, so I left a *healthy* half-inch seam allowance. Gave myself as much time as needed, to figure out how crazy this block is going to be.

It only took me about an hour to cut, pin, sew, press, and trim the block. Not bad, right? I already see some ways to speed up the process and improve the product, so I’m not too worried. I feel like my goal of one block every day might actually be possible. (Granted, I didn’t have any real work to do today, commitments to friends, social engagements, etc. We’ll see how this holds up.)

1 down, 999 more to go.

Date: Feb. 18th, 2013

Location: Apartment, Washington Heights, NYC

Person I would have sent it to: I promised myself I would start with my family. Since each block was to be sent to an individual, I’ll commit & say that this one would have been sent to my mother in Richmond, VA.

Music listened to while sewing: Death Cab for Cutie.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: Anxiety. It’s always hard to start a new project, isn’t it? And especially that this one is so large, I’m bouncing back and forth from feeling the weight of it all, and the relief that the project itself is so big that it won’t be done fast. A good lesson and reminder that this needs to be taken one day at a time. Don’t you think?

4 thoughts on “Block 1: February 18, 2013

Please leave a reply!

