Block 379: March 21, 2014

IMG_5922

 

Look; I can’t believe I matched some of those lines like I did.

Date: March 21, 2014

Crane: 379

Days Spent on Project: 397

Location: Apartment, Washington Heights, NYC

Person I would have sent it to: Roweena M.

Roweena was yet another of the amazingly smart and fun dramaturgy students in the year ahead of me at Yale. Why that department, and that class, was such a collection of great personalities I’ll never know. But they were, and still are.

Roweena and I worked together on one Yale Cabaret, during my second year and her third. It was The Lover, by Harold Pinter. I designed the sets for the show; I approached it simply and I admittedly didn’t spend as much time or put as much effort into it as I should. I regret that I didn’t think about it more- where it seems straightforward, I think there might have been more for me to mine in the experience.

But, Roweena, bless her, was a doll to work with.

I ran into her once in New York, in December of 2007. I was walking out of a small bar called Angel’s Share, followed by a guy that I had been set up with for a date. (The date didn’t really go well, and I remember going home and ordering take out and bemoaning my dating life. Little did I know that in a few weeks I’d end up meeting a guy who I’d date for 14 months, my last relationship.) Anyway, here I was walking out of Angel’s Share, having to walk through a crowded Japanese restaurant, and there was Roweena. We awkwardly made conversation for a minute or two; I really wanted to talk to her, but what about the guy behind me? How do I introduce him?

The small talk was good, yet quick. I wish I’d run into her again.

Music I listened to while sewing: Spotify suggested Joey Fehrenbach’s album “Don’t Wake Me” this morning. It’s fitting because I didn’t want to get out of bed today. But I’ve got lots to do!

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: Where to even begin?

Yesterday was another epic day. It seemed long. It was full. Much happened.

I’ve know had my first experience of walking into a production company, as a designer who was referred by an agent. It felt like things were different afterwards.

Including today, I now have six days to get my lecture, my portfolios, and my mind ready to go to a college for a campus visit.

I’m also down to 37 days before heading to UCI for the workshop.

And then 52 days before I arrive in Arkansas for a month to get Pippin moving.

Lots to look forward to. Lots to reasons to look up. Lots of reasons to keep the fingers crossed.

One thought on “Block 379: March 21, 2014

Please leave a reply!

