Block 257: November 13, 2013

IMG_5238

Bowery Beauty.

Date: November 13, 2013

Crane: 257

Days Spent on Project: 270

Location: Apartment, Washington Heights, NYC

Person I would have sent it to: Kevin McL.

The Fall that I moved to Louisville, KY to start my season as a Journeyman Assistant Costume Designer, I was supposed to be mentored by Kevin. I say “supposed to” because the Friday before I was scheduled to start work, I dropped by the Costume Shop. I was really eager.

Kevin and Margret were there; they were discussing how Kevin had been given a promotion at his *other* job and would be leaving in a week to tackle that full-time.

I was given a week to learn everything about the theater, what my job/position entailed, what other people in the Shop expected from me, how to get things started/done, how to do the paperwork, how to set-up a show bible, where everything was, and so on and so on.

It was a lot to learn. Kevin had been there… how many years? It seemed like he was a bedrock of the Costume Shop, someone people expected to see and work with. While I was not going to “take his place” with my position, in a way, I was taking his place. For a while, until his replacement could be hired.

I would have liked working with him more, because he seemed like a lot of fun. Plus, he was slightly obsessed with all things Disney, which was fairly awesome.

Music I listened to while sewing: Still listening to the new Gaga album. I’m in like with it a lot.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: Back to the sleepless nights. Back to worrying over things that are out of my control. Back to just worrying about everything.

Should these dancers’ outfits be blue-green or just blue? Ideally, I saw it as blue, but the fabric wasn’t available in the tones I wanted… is it good to shift it this far?

How am I going to make these dance costumes? I don’t have access to a serger in New York.

I just landed two shows… for next spring… back-to-back time out of state. What do I do with my dog for 6 weeks?

What am I going to do in the winter?

Can I really go to LA with a clear conscience this weekend?

Should I really try and take a job that will only pay $250 and last for four months?

When will I win the lottery?

When will this year cut me some slack? When will things get easier? Even if it is just a little bit? Just a little bit?

Please leave a reply!

